Lorenzo Gives Yamaha Slight Edge On Day Two

2 Mins read

Jorge Lorenzo sent Yamaha to the top of the timesheets on day two of the Sepang pre-season test with the first sub-two minute lap of the week. The Spaniard met stiff competition as Andrea Dovizioso put on another eye-catching performance but Lorenzo’s flyer late in the morning saw him edge out the Ducati.

The impressive performance of Ducati’s interim GP14.3 was one of the headline stories on day one and with cooler conditions marking the start of day two, Dovizioso impressed again with a 2:00.015 on soft tyres. This came on the Italian’s third flying lap of the morning and his benchmark time would remain unbeaten for much of the morning.

On the stroke of lunch, Lorenzo came to life and broke into the 1:59s on the improving Yamaha YZR-M1, five hundredths quicker than Dovizioso. Wednesday pacesetter Marc Marquez was another rider to peak around lunchtime with a 2:00.146 good enough for third, with the world champion’s day ending with a minor spill at turn eight.

Dani Pedrosa and Andrea Iannone backed up their respective teammates with fourth and fifth as Valentino Rossi slipped to sixth, the Movistar Yamaha rider failing to match his pace from the opening day. Seventh placed Pol Espargaro was another rider that failed to improve, the Tech 3 youngster crashing for the second consecutive day, while Cal Crutchlow split the Spaniard from his teammate Bradley Smith who rode through the pain barrier to take ninth, completing 51 laps.

After promising that Suzuki’s best days were ahead of them, Aleix Espargaro was good to his word as he broke into the top ten, taking almost a second off his Wednesday best. His teammate Maverick Vinales was another big climber on the second day, improving by 1.2s to finish fifteenth, ensuring he would take the honour of top rookie away from CWM-LCR Honda’s Jack Miller.


2015 MotoGP Testing: Sepang – February 5

1 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 1:59.963
2 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Ducati Team 2:00.015
3 Marc Marquez Honda Repsol Honda Team 2:00.146
4 Dani Pedrosa Honda Repsol Honda Team 2:00.260
5 Andrea Iannone Ducati Ducati Team 2:00.391
6 Valentino Rossi Yamaha Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 2:00.676
7 Pol Espargaro Yamaha Monster Yamaha Tech 3 2:00.959
8 Cal Crutchlow Honda CWM LCR Honda 2:01.058
9 Bradley Smith Yamaha Monster Yamaha Tech 3 2:01.098
10 Aleix Espargaro Suzuki Team Suzuki MotoGP 2:01.344
11 Stefan Bradl Forward Yamaha Forward Racing 2:01.484
12 Hector Barbera Ducati Avintia Racing 2:01.615
13 Hiroshi Aoyama Honda HRC 2:01.772
14 Scott Redding Honda Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS 2:01.844
15 Maverick Vinales Suzuki Team Suzuki MotoGP 2:01.916
16 Danilo Petrucci Ducati Pramac Racing 2:01.932
17 Alvaro Bautista Aprilia Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 2:02.155
18 Michele Pirro Ducati Pramac Racing 2:02.199
19 Nicky Hayden Honda Drive M7 Aspar 2:02.228
20 Karel Abraham Honda AB Motoracing 2:02.574
21 Loris Baz Forward Yamaha Forward Racing 2:02.842
22 Katsuyuki Nakasuga Yamaha Yamaha Factory Test Team 2:02.914
23 Jack Miller Honda CWM LCR Honda 2:03.083
24 Eugene Laverty Honda Drive M7 Aspar 2:03.129
25 Alex de Angelis ART Octo IodaRacing Team 2:03.399
26 Mike di Meglio Ducati Avintia Racing 2:03.609
27 Takumi Takahashi Honda HRC 2:03.781
28 Marco Melandri Aprilia Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 2:04.487
Avatar photo
5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts
MotoGPNASCAR Cup Series

Trackhouse Racing Team entering MotoGP in 2024

1 Mins read
NASCAR Cup Series team Trackhouse Racing will become a MotoGP team in 2024 as they partner with Aprilia to field bikes for Miguel Oliveira and Raul Fernandez.

Marc Marquez shoots down running Dakar Rally on bike

3 Mins read
As much as MotoGP great Marc Márquez likes the Dakar Rally, he has no interest in racing it on a bike. While it has its own challenges, he did not necessarily rule out a run on four wheels.

MotoGP star Rossi announced as BMW M Motorsports driver for 2023

2 Mins read
BMW M Motorsport has announced the MotoGP legend Valentino Rossi as a works driver for 2023