Marquez Continues Sepang Testing Domination

Marc Marquez continues to look the overwhelming favourite for the 2015 MotoGP world championship after finishing the second pre-season Sepang test on top. The reigning champion broke the lap record to go fastest in the first test and although he didn’t quite hit those same heights this week, Marquez still had comfortably enough to outpace Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo.

With cooler conditions greeting the riders first thing on Wednesday morning, the opening tour turned into something resembling a qualifying session with most of the field going in search of a fast time on new tyres. Cal Crutchlow was the first man to go below the two minute mark with a 1:59.658 but Marquez soon put that time into perspective, knocking half a second off the benchmark set by the Briton. Lorenzo soon split the Honda pair to go second although the Yamaha rider could only close to within three tenths of the no.93.

Crutchlow held onto third with Andrea Iannone rounding off a strong debut for Ducati’s GP15 with fourth place on the final day. Valentino Rossi followed his compatriot in fifth while Bradley Smith continued to snap at the heels of his factory Yamaha colleague with the sixth fastest time, just half a tenth shy of Rossi. Smith also retained the edge over Tech 3 teammate Pol Espargaro after the Spaniard crashed out while attempting a new-tyre run.

Dani Pedrosa was seventh quickest, some eight tenths down on his pacesetting teammate, with Hector Barbera grabbing eighth on his Avintia Ducati while Aleix Espargaro claimed ninth for Suzuki despite failing to make a significant gain on his Tuesday best.


2015 MotoGP Testing: Sepang – February 25

1 Marc Marquez Honda Repsol Honda Team 1:59.115
2 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 1:59.437
3 Cal Crutchlow Honda CWM LCR Honda 1:59.658
4 Andrea Iannone Ducati Ducati Team 1:59.722
5 Valentino Rossi Yamaha Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 1:59.833
6 Bradley Smith Yamaha Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1:59.883
7 Dani Pedrosa Honda Repsol Honda Team 1:59.912
8 Hector Barbera Ducati Avintia Racing 2:00.244
9 Aleix Espargaro Suzuki Team Suzuki MotoGP 2:00.275
10 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Ducati Team 2:00.468
11 Pol Espargaro Yamaha Monster Yamaha Tech 3 2:00.490
12 Danilo Petrucci Ducati Pramac Racing 2:00.556
13 Yonny Hernandez Ducati Pramac Racing 2:00.603
14 Maverick Vinales Suzuki Team Suzuki MotoGP 2:00.604
15 Stefan Bradl Forward Yamaha Forward Racing 2:00.685
16 Scott Redding Honda Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS 2:00.695
17 Nicky Hayden Honda Drive M7 Aspar 2:00.813
18 Michele Pirro Ducati Ducati Test Team 2:00.875
19 Alvaro Bautista Aprilia Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 2:01.310
20 Mike di Meglio Ducati Avintia Racing 2:01.487
21 Karel Abraham Honda AB Motoracing 2:01.536
22 Jack Miller Honda CWM LCR Honda 2:01.593
23 Eugene Laverty Honda Drive M7 Aspar 2:01.815
24 Loris Baz Forward Yamaha Forward Racing 2:02.587
25 Alex de Angelis ART Octo IodaRacing Team 2:03.300
26 Katsuyuki Nakasuga Yamaha Yamaha Factory Test Team 2:03.448
27 Marco Melandri Aprilia Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 2:03.569