Rookies Impress In Jerez Moto3 Testing

2 Mins read

Fabio Quartararo and Jorge Martin finished the second Moto3 pre-season test at Jerez as the two fastest riders as the rookies continued to upstage the experienced riders. Fresh from topping the timesheets at Valencia last week, Quartararo continued to impress while Martin, the reigning Red Bull Rookies champion, was the only rider within four tenths of the Frenchman and the sole Mahindra in the top eight.

After seeing Isaac Vinales top the opening day, Quartararo took control on the morning of day two, setting a 1:46.435 to go half a second quicker than Niccolo Antonelli. Times continued to tumble as the test unfolded with Quartararo lowering his benchmark to a 1:45.580 midway through day three, over half a second quicker than last season’s pole position time.

With Honda’s dominating for much of the test, Jorge Martin’s 1:45.593 on the Mapfre Mahindra stands out as a particularly impressive performance, the Spaniard closing to within 0.013s of Quartararo. Danny Kent was the best of the rest in third, continuing his encouraging start to pre-season while John McPhee also broke into the top five overall with a 1:46.306, slotting just behind Antonelli.

Jorge Navarro took sixth place for Estrella Galicia 0,0 with Karel Hanika the leading KTM in seventh ahead of Hiroki Ono, another impressive rookie aboard the Leopard Racing Honda. Completing Mahindra’s promising week, Juanfran Guevara and Francesco Bagnaia claimed the remaining places in the top ten.


2015 Moto3 Testing: Jerez – February 17-19

1 Fabio Quartararo Honda Estrella Galicia 0,0 1:45.580
2 Jorge Martin Mahindra Mapfre Mahindra Team 1:45.593
3 Danny Kent Honda Leopard Racing 1:45.964
4 Niccolo Antonelli Honda Ongetta-Rivacold 1:46.043
5 John McPhee Honda Saxoprint-RTG 1:46.306
6 Jorge Navarro Honda Estrella Galicia 0,0 1:46.338
7 Karel Hanika KTM Red Bull KTM Ajo 1:46.427
8 Hiroki Ono Honda Leopard Racing 1:46.464
9 Juanfran Guevara Mahindra Mapfre Mahindra Team 1:46.501
10 Francesco Bagnaia Mahindra Mapfre Mahindra Team 1:46.541
11 Brad Binder KTM Red Bull KTM Ajo 1:46.607
12 Enea Bastianini Honda Junior Team Gresini Moto3 1:46.700
13 Livio Loi Honda RW Racing GP 1:46.737
14 Romano Fenati KTM Sky Racing Team VR46 1:46.742
15 Miguel Oliveira KTM Red Bull KTM Ajo 1:46.774
16 Isaac Vinales Husqvarna Husqvarna Factory Laglisse 1:46.817
17 Jules Danilo Honda Ongetta-Rivacold 1:46.836
18 Niklas Ajo KTM RBA Racing Team 1:46.887
19 Alexis Masbou Honda Saxoprint-RTG 1:47.072
20 Alessandro Tonucci Mahindra Outox Reset Drink Team 1:47.091
21 Philipp Oettl KTM Schedl GP Racing 1:47.142
22 Andrea Locatelli Honda Junior Team Gresini Moto3 1:47.171
23 Daryn Binder Mahindra Outox Reset Drink Team 1:47.217
24 Ana Carrasco KTM RBA Racing Team 1:47.292
25 Stefano Manzi Mahindra San Carlo Team Italia 1:47.329
26 Maria Herrera Husqvarna Husqvarna Factory Laglisse 1:47.376
27 Andrea Migno KTM Sky Racing Team VR46 1:47.430
28 Gabriel Rodrigo KTM RBA Racing Team 1:47.683
29 Remy Gardner Mahindra CIP 1:47.705
30 Tatsuki Suzuki Mahindra CIP 1:47.722
31 Matteo Ferrari Mahindra San Carlo Team Italia 1:47.768
32 Efren Vazquez Honda Leopard Racing 1:49.922
5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts

MotoGP: Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta updates on 2020

3 Mins read
Dorna CEO updates on 2020: we’re trying to maintain the races, which is the most important thing.

MotoGP: German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix cancelled

1 Mins read
The German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix are cancelled due to the coronavirus outbreak.

Arenas snatches victory in a spectacular Moto3 season opener

1 Mins read
Albert Arenas claimed an incredible victory to kick off the 2020 Moto3 Championship

Leave a Reply