Rossi Quickest On Opening Day Of Sepang 2

Valentino Rossi returned Yamaha to the top of the testing timesheets after going fastest on day one of the second Sepang pre-season test. The Italian edged ahead of Dani Pedrosa shortly before lunchtime and with rain arriving in the last couple of hours, his time remained the quickest of the day.

Yamaha were one of teams under increased scrutiny with the Japanese manufacturer running a new seamless shift gearbox on their factory YZR-M1s. The early impressions seemed to be positive with Rossi clocking a 2:00.414, a second and a half shy of Marc Marquez’s Sepang 1 benchmark but still 0.129s under Pedrosa’s best effort on Monday.

The Espargaro brothers came next with Pol in third but Aleix was among the stars of day one with fourth on the Suzuki, suggesting that updates to the GSX-RR since the previous test are making a difference. He even outpaced compatriots Jorge Lorenzo and Marc Marquez with the title favourites seven tenths off the pace in fifth and sixth. Cal Crutchlow and Bradley Smith were a tenth further back in seventh and eighth, the British duo showing signs of progress from the first test.

Even with the upgrades at Yamaha, Ducati were the centre of attention with the much-anticipated GP15 making its debut. With outright fast times low on their list of priorities, Andrea Dovizioso and Andrea Iannone made a quiet start, finishing 10th and 15th respectively.

Scott Redding made a bright start in 11th, lapping within three tenths of his best time earlier in the month while Aprilia also received a morale boost with Alvaro Bautista up in 12th.


2015 MotoGP Testing: Sepang – February 23

1 Valentino Rossi Yamaha Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 2:00.414
2 Dani Pedrosa Honda Repsol Honda Team 2:00.543
3 Pol Espargaro Yamaha Monster Yamaha Tech 3 2:00.876
4 Aleix Espargaro Suzuki Team Suzuki MotoGP 2:01.055
5 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 2:01.162
6 Marc Marquez Honda Repsol Honda Team 2:01.190
7 Cal Crutchlow Honda CWM LCR Honda 2:01.222
8 Bradley Smith Yamaha Monster Yamaha Tech 3 2:01.241
9 Maverick Vinales Suzuki Team Suzuki MotoGP 2:01.317
10 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Ducati Team 2:01.355
11 Scott Redding Honda Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS 2:01.592
12 Alvaro Bautista Aprilia Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 2:01.740
13 Hector Barbera Ducati Avintia Racing 2:01.926
14 Nicky Hayden Honda Drive M7 Aspar 2:02.062
15 Andrea Iannone Ducati Ducati Team 2:02.142
16 Danilo Petrucci Ducati Pramac Racing 2:02.225
17 Karel Abraham Honda AB Motoracing 2:02.394
18 Stefan Bradl Forward Yamaha Forward Racing 2:02.410
19 Yonny Hernandez Ducati Pramac Racing 2:02.606
20 Eugene Laverty Honda Drive M7 Aspar 2:02.730
21 Mike di Meglio Ducati Avintia Racing 2:02.941
22 Jack Miller Honda CWM LCR Honda 2:03.006
23 Michele Pirro Ducati Ducati Test Team 2:03.105
24 Loris Baz Forward Yamaha Forward Racing 2:03.316
25 Katsuyuki Nakasuga Yamaha Yamaha Factory Test Team 2:03.337
26 Alex de Angelis ART Octo IodaRacing Team 2:03.966
27 Marco Melandri Aprilia Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 2:04.000