Dovizioso Keeps Ducati On Top At Losail

Andrea Dovizioso went quicker than the current Losail circuit record to keep Ducati’s noses in front of Honda at the end of day two in Qatar. The Italian was the only rider to lap Losail in sub-1:55, ensuring he would outpace Marc Marquez by 0.184s, as Ducati’s GP15 continues to showcase its potential.

The new Desmosedici was sporting a fairing with striking new winglets and Dovizioso was also catching the eye with his lap times on old and new tyres. Despite a bright start to the evening by Marquez, Dovizioso sneaked ahead in the closing stages with a 1:54.907 with Saturday pacesetter Andrea Iannone following up his teammate in third, just 0.013s down on Marquez.

Movistar Yamaha bounced back after a difficult day one with Jorge Lorenzo and Valentino Rossi fourth and fifth, fractionally faster than the second Repsol Honda of Dani Pedrosa, while British pair Cal Crutchlow and Bradley Smith continue to be closely matched in the battle to be leading satellite rider, the compatriots just two hundredths apart in seventh and eighth.

Pol Espargaro was among the riders to struggle on the opening night but the Spaniard climbed to ninth on Sunday, hot on the heels of his teammate, but the biggest improvement of all came from Karel Abraham who clocked a 1:55.765 to complete the top ten, proving that the production-spec Honda RC213V-RS will still be a competitive package this season.


2015 MotoGP Testing: Losail – March 15

1 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Ducati Team 1:54.907
2 Marc Marquez Honda Repsol Honda Team 1:55.091
3 Andrea Iannone Ducati Ducati Team 1:55.104
4 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 1:55.500
5 Valentino Rossi Yamaha Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 1:55.581
6 Dani Pedrosa Honda Repsol Honda Team 1:55.582
7 Cal Crutchlow Honda CWM LCR Honda 1:55.624
8 Bradley Smith Yamaha Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1:55.648
9 Pol Espargaro Yamaha Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1:55.658
10 Karel Abraham Honda AB Motoracing 1:55.765
11 Yonny Hernandez Ducati Pramac Racing 1:55.772
12 Aleix Espargaro Suzuki Team Suzuki MotoGP 1:55.795
13 Scott Redding Honda Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS 1:55.803
14 Maverick Vinales Suzuki Team Suzuki MotoGP 1:55.810
15 Hector Barbera Ducati Avintia Racing 1:56.058
16 Nicky Hayden Honda Drive M7 Aspar 1:56.104
17 Mike di Meglio Ducati Avintia Racing 1:56.259
18 Eugene Laverty Honda Drive M7 Aspar 1:56.342
19 Michele Pirro Ducati Ducati Test Team 1:56.476
20 Stefan Bradl Forward Yamaha Forward Racing 1:56.724
21 Jack Miller Honda CWM LCR Honda 1:56.758
22 Danilo Petrucci Ducati Pramac Racing 1:56.762
23 Loris Baz Forward Yamaha Forward Racing 1:56.936
24 Alvaro Bautista Aprilia Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 1:57.273
25 Alex de Angelis ART Octo IodaRacing Team 1:57.390
26 Marco Melandri Aprilia Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 1:57.982