JD Motorsport add Mathias Kristensen to Eurocup line-up

JD Motorsport have confirmed that Dane Mathias Kristensen will join their Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 team for the 2015 season.

The sixteen-year-old moves up from racing in Formula Ford in his homeland, and joins Russian Matevos Isaakyan and Brazilian Thiago Vivacqua in the team’s 2015 line-up.

He also raced for M2 Competition in the New Zealand based Toyota Racing Series during the winter, finishing eleventh in the championship with a best finish of fourth place in race two at Hampton Downs.

Team Principal Roberto Cavallari welcomed Kristensen to the team, having been impressed by his testing with the team during the winter months.

“We’re glad to bring Mathias in his European Championship debut especially considering the high competitive level and the prestigious of the Series as Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup is,” said Cavallari.

“After his first entering into the Team and the approach to the car during an intense winter tests program, now the target is to make Mathias acquire the necessary experience so that he can show his potential in the best way”