Marquez Leads FP2 as Top Ten Fight Heats Up

by Louis Suddaby

Marc Marquez remains a step ahead of his MotoGP rivals after comfortably topping the second free practice session at Losail but the battle to secure an automatic spot in Q2 looks set to reach a thrilling climax in FP3 later this evening. Marquez led his teammate Dani Pedrosa by half a second but the same margin covered thirteen riders from Jorge Lorenzo in sixth to Stefan Bradl in eighteenth with all eyeing a spot in Qualifying 2 on Saturday.

Marquez had already established himself as the rider to beat in first practice yesterday but the reigning champion stretched further clear with a 1:54.828, quicker than the existing circuit record. Pedrosa slotted in behind his teammate in second with a 1:55.275, fractionally faster than Andrea Dovizioso’s Ducati, but as the leading contenders switched focus to race preparation, those further down looked to enhance their qualifying prospects.

Bradley Smith was among those with work to do having finished FP1 down in thirteenth but the Briton lifted himself to sixth ten minutes from time. Valentino Rossi had been demoted to the bottom of the top ten but soon rebounded up to fifth before Cal Crutchlow produced a personal best on the LCR Honda to snatch fourth late on.

Once the dust had settled, Crutchlow held onto fourth with Andrea Iannone using a soft tyre to finish fifth, knocking the Movistar Yamahas of Jorge Lorenzo and Valentino Rossi down to sixth and seventh respectively. Mike Di Meglio used a slipstream offered by Pol Espargaro’s Tech 3 Yamaha to steal eighth from Smith while Hector Barbera rounded out the top ten on the second Avintia Ducati.

Aleix Espargaro’s pace was one of the stories of FP1 but the Suzuki rider was unable to improve after his GSX-RR broke down late in the session. The returning manufacturers both had scrappy sessions with Marco Melandri destroying his Aprilia with a crash at turn two.


2015 Commercial Bank Grand Prix of Qatar: Free Practice 2 Classification

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
193. Marc MarquezHondaRepsol Honda Team1:54.828
226. Dani PedrosaHondaRepsol Honda Team1:55.275
34. Andrea DoviziosoDucatiDucati Team1:55.366
435. Cal CrutchlowHondaCWM LCR Honda1:55.397
529. Andrea IannoneDucatiDucati Team1:55.404
699. Jorge LorenzoYamahaMovistar Yamaha MotoGP1:55.609
746. Valentino RossiYamahaMovistar Yamaha MotoGP1:55.618
863. Mike di MeglioDucatiAvintia Racing1:55.707
938. Bradley SmithYamahaMonster Yamaha Tech 31:55.741
108. Hector BarberaDucatiAvintia Racing1:55.838
1141. Aleix EspargaroSuzukiTeam Suzuki Ecstar1:55.847
1268. Yonny HernandezDucatiPramac Racing1:55.970
1344. Pol EspargaroYamahaMonster Yamaha Tech 31:56.004
1425. Maverick VinalesSuzukiTeam Suzuki Ecstar1:56.036
1569. Nicky HaydenHondaAspar MotoGP Team1:56.086
1645. Scott ReddingHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS1:56.133
1717. Karel AbrahamHondaAB Motoracing1:56.178
186. Stefan BradlForward YamahaAthina Forward Racing1:56.181
1950. Eugene LavertyHondaAspar MotoGP Team1:56.333
2043. Jack MillerHondaCWM LCR Honda1:56.578
219. Danilo PetrucciDucatiPramac Racing1:56.657
2276. Loris BazForward YamahaAthina Forward Racing1:56.966
2315. Alex de AngelisARTOcto IodaRacing Team1:57.509
2419. Alvaro BautistaApriliaAprilia Racing Team Gresini1:57.868
2533. Marco MelandriApriliaAprilia Racing Team Gresini1:58.542

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More