EuroFormula Open

Baptista beats Rovera for maiden EuroFormula Open pole

1 Mins read

Brazilian Vitor Baptista became the first rookie driver to secure a pole position in 2015 after grabbing top spot in a wet qualifying for race one at Paul Ricard.

The RP Motorsport driver came out on top of a close qualifying session, setting a lap time of 2m18.144s, beating Friday pacesetter Alessio Rovera of BVM Racing by just 0.044s.

Russian John Simonyan will start third in the MKTG-backed RP Motorsport machine, alongside the leading Campos Racing entry of Mexican racer Diego Mencheca.

Damiano Fioravanti will start this afternoon’s race from fifth position in a third RP Motorsport entry, alongside the leading Team West-Tec F3 machine of Thai driver Tanart Sathienthirakul.

The leading Emilio de Villota Motorsport entry of Yu Kanamaru will start seventh, but was 1.270s adrift of the pole time, while Jerez race two winner Konstantin Tereschenko will start eighth ahead of Yarin Stern of Team West-Tec F3 and Leonardo Pulcini of DAV Racing.

Race one at Paul Ricard gets underway 15:00 local time, with drivers hoping for the track to dry for lights out, while a lot of attention will be placed onto Baptista at the front with his maiden pole.

Paul Ricard Race 1 Qualifying Times

[table id=174 /]

Related posts
EuroFormula Open

Ye Secures Double Victory at the Red Bull Ring, Maldonado Takes First EuroFormula Open Podiums

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye has now won five out of six races to start the 2020 EuroFormula Open season after a double victory at the Red Bull Ring.
EuroFormula Open

Dunner, Ye Continue Positive Start to 2020 for CryptoTower Racing

3 Mins read
CryptoTower Racing took both victories as the EuroFormula Open series hit the Circuit Paul Ricard in France for round two of 2020.
EuroFormula Open

Ye Welcomes in New Era of EuroFormula Open with Double Victory in Hungary

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye had a perfect weekend at the Hungaroring as the 2020 EuroFormula Open season finally got underway.

Leave a Reply