Formula Renault 2.0

Deletraz continues winning streak in race two at Aragon

1 Mins read

Louis Deletraz completed a perfect opening day of the 2015 Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 season at Motorland Aragon after taking his second victory of the day ahead of Josef Kaufmann Racing team-mate Kevin Jörg.

The Swiss drivers converted their front row lockout to take the one-two finish for the team, with Deletraz beating Jörg by 1.042s at the end of the race.

Last year’s series runner-up Dennis Olsen completed the podium in his Manor MP Motorsport machine, while Russian driver Matevos Isaakyan took his second fourth place finish of the day for JD Motorsport.

Ben Barnicoat could not match his race one podium in race two, with the Racing Steps Foundation-backed Fortec Motorsports driver finishing fifth ahead of Anthoine Hubert of Tech 1 Racing, who also could not match his earlier result of third in race one.

Jake Hughes and Jack Aitken were seventh and eighth for Koiranen GP, while Manor MP Motorsport’s Ignazio D’Agosto and Lasse Sorensen completed the top ten, with 2014 French F4 Champion Sorensen just holding off AVF’s Matthew Graham at the end.

The race was affected by an early safety car when Tech 1 Racing’s Simon Gachet crashed on lap two, but the French driver was able to walk away unscathed. There was also a yellow flag period midway through the race when Thiago Vivacqua spun his JD Motorsport machine into a gravel trap.

Deletraz will have the opportunity to make it a three-peat on Sunday, with qualifying for race three taking place on Sunday morning ahead of the last race of the weekend at 12:15 local time.

Motorland Aragon Race 2 Result

[table id=181 /]

12247 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.