Formula Renault 2.0

Deletraz dominates Aragon opener for maiden Eurocup win

1 Mins read

Louis Deletraz took his maiden Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series victory in commanding fashion at Motorland Aragon.

The Josef Kaufmann Racing driver converted his maiden series pole position taken during qualifying earlier in the day, to beat Fortec Motorsport driver Ben Barnicoat by 2.342s. Deletraz also had the distinction of taking fastest lap.

Anthoine Hubert took the final podium place in third for Tech 1 Racing, having passed Kevin Jörg of Josef Kaufmann Racing when the Swiss driver made a small mistake. Jörg also lost out to Russian driver Matevos Isaakyan of JD Motorsport, who held off the challenge of the Swiss driver to retain the position until the flag.

Dennis Olsen took sixth for Manor MP Motorsport despite running second on the opening lap, falling back behind Barnicoat after the Briton made an aggressive move, then fell down behind Hubert, Jörg and Isaakyan as well. Olsen finished ahead of team-mate Ignazio D’Agosto, while Jake Hughes took eighth for Koiranen GP.

Simon Gachet took two points for Tech 1 Racing in ninth, while the final point went to Jack Aitken of Koiranen GP.

Race two starts at 16:20 local time, with Deletraz once again on pole position.

Motorland Aragon Race 1 Result

[table id=178 /]

Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.

Leave a Reply