Dienst Wins, Schumacher Top Rookie in First ADAC F4 Race

Marvin Dienst, having shown quick pace all weekend made an excellent start from third to take the lead into the first corner. Allowing him to go on and win after being closely chased by Ralf Aron, while Mattia Drudi rounded out the podium. Meanwhile, a stunning drive from Mick Schumacher meant he finished 9th and the top rookie.

Janneau Esmeijer started on pole for the 30 minute race, ahead of Joey Mawson. But both struggled as Mawson almost stalled, pushing him down the order, while the pole sitter was swamped by the fast starting Dienst and Aron. A crash into the first corner saw Toni Wolf being launched over the kerb, into team mate Cedric Piro, meanwhile the top rookie from Qualifying; Guanyu Zhou stalled, ruining his race. A safety car was called while the mess was cleared.

As the field was released from the safety car, Dienst lead from Aron, Esmeijer, Michael Walderr and Drudi. While Schumacher, who had started nineteenth was up to fifteenth. The clear track did not last long and only 2 minutes later, Benjamin Mazatis spun into the gravel prompting a second safety car, while, Leon Wippersteg spun in a separate incident further round the track.

At the second restart with 16 minutes to go, Esmeijer, who had already dropped to fifth, fell further as he went wide in the final sector falling to the back. This allowed Dienst and Aron to pull away from Drudi in third.

It became clear the stewards were being cautious as a third safety car was called for Robert Schwartzman, who ran wide and got beached in the gravel, far from the track. Schumacher and Tim Zimmermann had gained 10 and 12 places off the grid respectively, but it was Harrison Newey who flew past them both when the lights went green, claiming 8th place, while Joel Eriksson claimed fourth from Walderr.

The Neuhauser Racing cars had started to battle amongst themselves, this didn’t end well for one of them as Kim-Luis Schramm broke the front wing on the kerb losing the opportunity for points. With 4 minutes to go, Esmeijer decided to retire after making no progress, while Aron set the fastest lap.

He was unable to catch Dienst however; who pulled out a gap on the final lap to win by 0.9 seconds from Aron and Drudi. After battling through, Schumacher finished ninth meaning he was the top rookie after an impressive drive.

Oschersleben Race 1 Result

127Marvin DienstGERHTP Junior Team31m02.192s
299Ralf AronESTPrema Powerteam+0.975s
319Mattia DrudiITASMG Swiss Motorsport Group+4.214s
47Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark+5.314s
510Michael WaldherrGERMotopark+7.765s
636Joseph MawsonAUSVan Amersfoort Racing+8.120s
726Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing+9.168s
82Tim ZimmermanGERNeuhauser Racing+9.545s
925Mick SchumacherGERVan Amersfoort Racing+10.065s
1012Thomas PreiningAUTADAC Berlin-Brandenburg+10.610s
1118Giorgio MaggiGERSMG Swiss Motorsport Group+12.317s
129Jonathan CecottoVENMotopark+15.243s
1316Marek BockmannGERJenzer Motorsport+17.583s
146Mike OrtmannGERADAC Berlin-Brandenburg+17.907s
1522Florian JanitsGERLechner Racing+18.157s
1666Marcel LenerzGERLechner Racing+18.556s
178Jannes FittjeGERMotopark+19.976s
1846Mauro AuricchioGERTeam Scheider+21.541s
1933Jan JonckDENRS-Competition+21.905s
2024Robin BrezinaGERRobin Brezina+24.143s
2177Job van UitertNEDJob van Uitert+24.234s
2231Yan Leon ShlomITATeam Scheider+25.251s
2314Moritz Muller-CreponGERJenzer Motorsport+27.051s
2423Alain ValenteGERRace Performance+27.726s
2520Nikolaj RogivueGERSMG Swiss Motorsport Group+27.918s
2611Leon WipperstegGERTeam Scheider+28.440s
2715David KolkmannGERJenzer Motorsport+31.518s
2832Guan Yu ZhouCHNPrema Powerteam+1 Lap
29/RET38Luca EngstlerGERLiqui Moly Team Engstler+2 Laps
RET1Kim-Luis SchrammGERNeuhauser Racing12 Laps
RET4Robert SchwartzmanITAADAC Berlin-Brandenburg8 Laps
RET28Janneau EsmeijerNEDHTP Junior Team8 Laps
RET3Benjamin MazatisGERADAC Berlin-Brandenburg4 Laps
RET13Toni WolffGERTeam Pirosports0 Laps
RET34Cedric PiroGERTeam Pirosports0 Laps