Gibson wins Lydden Hill Thriller on Return to Retro Rallycross

Rob Gibson made a successful return to the Retro Rallycross Class in Round Two of the 2015 MSA British Rallycross Championship at Lydden Hill on Easter Monday, taking his Metro 6R4 the win in a thrilling Final.

He began his path to the Final by taking two heat wins during the day, whilst 2014 John Button Memorial Trophy winner Ray Morgan took his Ford Escort to the third heat win. James Harrold set competitive times in his Volkswagen Beetle to join both Gibson and Morgan on the front row for the Retro Rallycross Final, a race which turned out to be one of the most exciting during the days activities.

Harrold beat everybody at the start to take an early lead into Chesson’s Drift, but it was Gibson who was leading the field into Devils Elbow, one corner later. Meanwhile Morgan was attacking Harrold for second place with Lance Foster behind, keeping a secure fourth place. Morgan passed Harrold for second only to lose the place whilst Harrold then took the lead, passing Gibson in a three way battle into North Bend.

Gibson made his way way past Harrold on lap three to retake the lead from the Volkswagen Beetle driver with Morgan also passing Harrold for second place behind the Metro 6R4. Morgan then tried to pass Gibson at Paddock Bend and he duly took the position as Gibson ran wide on the way to Chessons Drift but hecsoon regained the lead before Devils Elbow. Meanwhile Lance Foster capitalised on the lead fight between the trio and began pressuring Harrold.

Gibson came through to claim the victory followed by Morgan, who survived a late last lap lunge from Harrold at Paddock Bend, which saw the Bettle driver spin and make contact with the barriers whilst Foster came through to take third position at the flag.

Stuart Bowes in his Mini kept Foster honest throughout the Final and came home fourth, with Harrold recovering to finish fifth. Paul Smith and Ian Biagi battled hard all day, but Biagi retired from the final on lap three leaving Smith the claim sixth place. Paul Haigh started the event in his Vauxhall Nova but was forced out with technical difficulties.

The next round of the British Retro Rallycross Championship takes place at Pembrey in Wales on 10 May.