Marvin Dienst Wins Race 2 in Oschersleben

Marvin Dienst, who started on pole, managed to retain his lead after constant pressure from team mate Janneau Esmeijer to win race two at Oschersleben.  The pair gained a one two finish for the HTP Junior team, and also allowed Dienst to extend his championship lead.

The thirty-minute race saw the HTP drivers on the front row in front of Joey Mawson and Ralf Aron. Compared to yesterday it was a fairly clean start, however; with 35 cars starting some were going to find themselves squeezed in the opening lap, with Michael Walderr and Harrison Newey being pushed wide onto the grass, losing them positions.

It was also a poor start for Newey’s team mate Mick Schumacher who almost stalled off the line, losing positions. Towards the end of the first lap, Nikolaj Rogivue spun into the barrier, causing the other cars to run wide to avoid him and the deployment of the safety car.

At the restart, with twenty minutes to go, Dienst lead from Esmeijer, Aron, Mawson and Mattia Drudi. Benjamin Mazatis‘ race continued going backwards as he spun in the turn one braking zone resulting in him having to spin the car around before he reached the apex. The HTP drivers started to break away from Aron in front, while Newey continued his progress back up the field by taking fifteenth, with Tim Zimmermann taking seventh.

Mawson found himself unable to keep up with Aron as Drudi pressured him from behind. Esmeijer set the fastest lap as he caught up with Dienst, but this was interrupted by another safety car. Robin Brezina spun and rolled backwards along the track, others had to take to grass to avoid a head on collision. The car was steered onto the grass, but stalled as it tried to get back on track.

At the second restart, Zimmermann had another great get away allowing him to claim sixth as Guan Yu Zhou dropped down to eighth as a result. Schumacher had been able to take Newey at the restart, but both made progress, overtaking Mike Ortmann for thirteenth.

A good opportunity for Kim-Luis Schramm to take points were scuppered late on as he fell to the back. However; it was an ecstatic win for Dienst who kept Esmeijer behind to win the second race of the weekend, with Aron rounding out the podium, firmly setting the Estonian as the closest championship challenger.

Thomas Preining will start ahead of Schumacher for race three.

Oschersleben Race 2 Result

127Marvin DienstGERHTP Junior Team31m17.044s
228Janneau EsmeijerNEDHTP Junior Team+0.798s
399Ralf AronESTPrema Powerteam+1.661s
436Joseph MawsonAUSVan Amersfoort Racing+3.301s
519Mattia DrudiITASMG Swiss Motorsport Group+3.687s
62Tim ZimmermanGERNeuhauser Racing+5.945s
718Giorgio MaggiGERSMG Swiss Motorsport Group+7.342s
832Guan Yu ZhouCHNPrema Powerteam+7.493s
97Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark+8.156s
104Robert SchwartzmanITAADAC Berlin-Brandenburg+8.454s
119Jonathan CecottoVENMotopark+9.652s
1225Mick SchumacherGERVan Amersfoort Racing+10.077s
1326Harrison NeweyGBRVan Amersfoort Racing+10.718s
146Mike OrtmannGERADAC Berlin-Brandenburg+13.505s
158Jannes FittjeGERMotopark+14.091s
1622Florian JanitsGERLechner Racing+14.873s
1766Marcel LenerzGERLechner Racing+15.708s
183Benjamin MazatisGERADAC Berlin-Brandenburg+16.176s
1933Jan JonckDENRS-Competition+17.034s
2077Job van UitertNEDJob van Uitert+17.350s
2110Michael WaldherrGERMotopark+17.867s
2211Leon WipperstegGERTeam Scheider+18.452s
2316Marek BockmannGERJenzer Motorsport+18.802s
2446Mauro AuricchioGERTeam Scheider+19.763s
2531Yan Leon ShlomITATeam Scheider+20.368s
2624Robin BrezinaGERRobin Brezina+21.199s
2738Luca EngstlerGERLiqui Moly Team Engstler+22.316s
2813Toni WolffGERTeam Pirosports+22.690s
2912Thomas PreiningAUTADAC Berlin-Brandenburg+22.772s
3015David KolkmannGERJenzer Motorsport+23.208s
3114Moritz Muller-CreponGERJenzer Motorsport+23.528s
3255Marylin NiederhauserSWIRace Performance+34.809s
33/RET1Kim-Luis SchrammGERNeuhauser Racing+2 Laps
34/RET34Cedric PiroGERTeam Pirosports+3 Laps
RET20Nikolaj RogivueGERSMG Swiss Motorsport Group0 Laps