Olsen beats the weather to take race three pole in Spain

Dennis Olsen took advantage of the changeable weather to take pole position for race three of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series at Motorland Aragon.

The Norwegian driver was quickest in the opening session for Manor MP Motorsport ahead of Koiranen GP’s Jack Aitken before the rain made the second session noticeably slower.

Ben Barnicoat took a gamble to switch from wet tyres to dry tyres early in the second session, with the Fortec Motorsports driver’s gamble paying off when the lap times tumbled. The Racing Steps Foundation-backed Briton will start alongside Olsen on the front row, while 2014 French Formula 4 Champion Lasse Sorensen, the only other driver to switch to dry tyres during the session, will start fourth in his Manor MP Motorsport machine alongside Aitken.

It was a good session for Manor MP Motorsport, with their third driver Ignazio D’Agosto qualifying fifth, with Martin Kodric sixth for Fortec Motorsports.

Ukyo Sasahara was seventh for the ART Junior Team ahead of Callan O’Keeffe of Fortec Motorsports, while Tech 1 Racing’s Anthoine Hubert and ART Junior Team’s Darius Oskoui complete the top ten.

Race one and two winner Louis Deletraz was a disappointing fifteenth on the grid, with the likelihood of a third race win for the Josef Kaufmann Racing driver looking distinctly remote, while other drivers to struggle included Kevin Jörg and Matevos Isaakyan, who both had strong results on Saturday.

Motorland Aragon Race 3 Qualifying Times

117Dennis OlsenNORManor MP Motorsport1m58.968s
26Ben BarnicoatGBRFortec Motorsports2m07.220s
33Jack AitkenGBRKoiranen GP1m59.370s
418Lasse SorensenDENManor MP Motorsport2m08.660s
519Ignazio D'AgostoITAManor MP Motorsport1m59.572s
65Martin KodricCROFortec Motorsports2m08.919s
79Ukyo SasaharaJAPART Junior Team1m59.813s
87Callan O'KeeffeRSAFortec Motorsports2m10.607s
922Anthoine HubertFRATech 1 Racing1m59.884s
1010Darius OskouiSWIART Junior Team2m10.675s
1128Matthew GrahamGBRAVF1m59.955s
1221Simon GachetFRATech 1 Racing2m10.678s
1326James AllenAUSARTA Engineering2m00.284s
1437Amaury BonduelFRAJD Motorsport2m10.923s
1514Louis DeletrazSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing2m00.780s
1615Kevin JorgSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing2m10.973s
178Luke ChudleighCANFortec Motorsports2m00.947s
1835Matevos IsaakyanRUSJD Motorsport2m11.097s
1932Valentin Hasse-ClotFRAStrakka Racing2m01.436s
2027Harrison ScottGBRAVF2m11.356s
212Jake HughesGBRKoiranen GP2m01.512s
2236Thiago VivacquaBRZJD Motorsport2m11.573s
2325Amaury RichardFRAARTA Engineering2m02.142s
2431Charlie EastwoodIRLStrakka Racing2m12.163s
2542Henrique ChavesPORAVF2m02.163s
2641Zachery Claman DemeloCANFortec Motorsports2m12.548s
271Anton de PasqualeAUSKoiranen GP2m02.718s
2820Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing2m12.657s
2940Bruno BaptistaBRZKoiranen GPNo Time