Olsen takes Aragon victory amid wet weather carnage

Dennis Olsen avoided the carnage to take victory in race three at Motorland Aragon as the race ended behind the safety car following a series of crashes.

Anthoine Hubert and Darius Oskoui joined Olsen on the podium in a race that ran its majority behind the safety car.

Manor MP Motorsport driver Olsen started from pole position, with the race being held in heavy rain, with Olsen getting a good start to lead into the first corner ahead of Fortec Motorsports duo Jack Aitken and Ignazio D’Agosto, who both had good starts from third and fifth to move into second and third.

Despite the rain, there were no incidents at the first corner, however front row starter Ben Barnicoat, who had dropped to fifth at the start, ended his race in a crash in the final sector of the first lap in a collision with fourth place starter Lasse Sorensen, with the Dane retiring in the pits.

The safety car was deployed at the end of lap three when both Strakka Racing drivers retired within a few corners of one another, with Olsen leading Aitken, D’Agosto and Ukyo Sasahara with Martin Kodric fifth ahead of Hubert.

Sasahara ended his race by crashing his ART Junior Team machine out on lap four, promoting Kodric to fourth, but Kodric’s race would also end on lap six as, with the safety car set to leave the circuit, he clashed with Aitken and D’Agosto ahead of him, with all three drivers being eliminated from the race.

Tech 1 Racing’s Hubert initially took the lead but with the safety car staying out to clear the wreckage from the three-car crash, he conceded the place back to Olsen, with the Norwegian taking the chequered flag for the victory.

Hubert was second, while Oskoui took advantage of the chaos to take third for the ART Junior Team. Callan O’Keeffe was fourth for Fortec Motorsports ahead of James Allen of ARTA Engineering, while Louis Deletraz, double race winner on Saturday, climbed to sixth for Josef Kaufmann Racing, just ahead of team-mate Kevin Jörg, with both of them taking advantage of a final lap problem for Simon Gachet, who while running sixth dropped to nineteenth.

Harrison Scott finished eighth for AVF, while Matevos Isaakyan of JD Motorsport and Matthew Graham of AVF completed the top ten. At least fifteen drivers were under investigation at the end of the race, including some of those caught up in the incidents behind the safety car.

Motorland Aragon Race 3 Result

117Dennis OlsenNORManor MP Motorsport29m37.049s
222Anthoine HubertFRATech 1 Racing+1.320s
310Darius OskouiSWIART Junior Team+1.835s
47Callan O'KeeffeRSAFortec Motorsports+2.864s
526James AllenAUSARTA Engineering+3.612s
614Louis DeletrazSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing+5.902s
715Kevin JorgSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing+7.818s
827Harrison ScottGBRAVF+8.630s
935Matevos IsaakyanRUSJD Motorsport+9.737s
1028Matthew GrahamGBRAVF+12.824s
1137Amaury BonduelFRAJD Motorsport+13.720s
128Luke ChudleighCANFortec Motorsports+14.976s
132Jake HughesGBRKoiranen GP+16.820s
1425Amaury RichardFRAARTA Engineering+17.682s
1540Bruno BaptistaBRZKoiranen GP+19.164s
1642Henrique ChavesPORAVF+21.117s
1736Thiago VivacquaBRZJD Motorsport+22.038s
1841Zachery Claman DemeloCANFortec Motorsports+22.864s
1921Simon GachetFRATech 1 Racing+23.401s
201Anton de PasqualeAUSKoiranen GP+25.495s
2120Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing+28.413s
RET3Jack AitkenGBRKoiranen GP6 Laps
RET19Ignazio D'AgostoITAManor MP Motorsport6 Laps
RET5Martin KodricCROFortec Motorsports6 Laps
RET9Ukyo SasaharaJAPART Junior Team4 Laps
RET31Charlie EastwoodIRLStrakka Racing2 Laps
RET32Valentin Hasse-ClotFRAStrakka Racing2 Laps
RET18Lasse SorensenDENManor MP Motorsport1 Lap
RET6Ben BarnicoatGBRFortec Motorsports0 Laps