Rovera takes advantage of weather to take maiden win in Jerez

Italian Alessio Rovera took a first EuroFormula Open victory at the Circuito de Jerez after taking advantage of the weather to climb from thirteenth on the grid for DAV Racing.

At the start, half the track was wet and half dry, and some drivers gambled on wet tyres and others on dries, but before too long it was clear the slick dry weather tyres were the ones to be on, and those on wets began to slip back.

Pole sitter Yarin Stern was slow away in his Team West-Tec F3 machine, and third placed Yu Kanamaru spun his Emilio de Villota Motorsport machine at the first corner in a crazy start.

This allowed Vitor Baptista take the lead for RP Motorsport, although it was short lived when Tanart Sathienthirakul took over at the front in the second of the West-Tec cars, just before the safety car was deployed with Jose Manuel Vilalta’s Emilio de Villota Motorsport machine stuck in a gravel trap.

The safety car saw the drivers who started on wet tyres jump into the pits to switch to slicks, and saw Sathienthirakul remain in the lead from Rovera and Diego Menchaca of Campos Racing.

Once the safety car left the circuit, Rovera made his move, and took Sathienthirakul around the outside of Expo ’92, and gradually pulled away from the Thai driver. Towards the end, Sathienthirakul came under attack from Vitor Baptista, and lost second with just a few laps remaining.

Kanamaru climbed back up to fourth following his opening lap spin, making a number of overtaking manoeuvres in the process, with William Barbosa fifth for BVM Racing and Konstantin Tereschenko finishing sixth for Campos Racing.

Damiano Fioravanti was seventh for RP Motorsport ahead of Mencheca, while debutants Ahmad Al Ghanem (Campos Racing) and Michael Dorrbecker (Emilio de Villota Motorsport) claimed the final points on offer.

Jerez Race 1 Result

121Alessio RoveraITADAV Racing35m44.453s
23Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport+7.473s
315Tanart SathienthirakulTHATeam West-Tec F3+11.706s
416Yu KanamaruJPNEmilio de Villota Motorsport+16.970s
519William BarbosaCOLBVM Racing+17.143s
66Konstantin TereschenkoRUSCampos Racing+18.139s
75Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport+19.999s
87Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing+23.561s
99Ahmad Al GhanemKWTCampos Racing+24.388s
1018Michael DorrbeckerMEXEmilio de Villota Motorsport+25.213s
1120Javier CobianESPBVM Racing+38.995s
124Antonio PtakPOLRP Motorsport+1m18.686s
1327Otto SanchezESPEmilio de Villota Motorsport+1 Lap
14/DNF2John SimonyanRUSMKTG+3 Laps
DNF1Andres SaraviaGTMRP Motorsport13 Laps
DNF77Leonardo PulciniITADAV Racing12 Laps
DNF10Yarin SternISRTeam West-Tec F38 Laps
DNF17Jose Manuel VilaltaMEXEmilio de Villota Motorsport2 Laps
DNF37Igor WalilkoPOLRP Motorsport1 Lap
DNF8Henrique BaptistaBRZCampos Racing1 Lap