EuroFormula Open

Stern takes maiden pole for EuroFormula Open opener

1 Mins read

Team West-Tec F3 driver Yarin Stern took the opening EuroFormula Open pole position of the 2015 season at the Circuito de Jerez in Spain.

The Israeli driver, who took six podium finishes during the 2014 season for the team, took his maiden series pole position with a lap time of 1m37.483s, to beat RP Motorsport’s Vitor Baptista by just 0.035s.

Baptista did have the satisfaction however of being the top debutant in the field, even if he is not classed as a rookie by the series.

Yu Kanamaru, who had topped all three practice sessions on Friday for Emilio de Villota Motorsport, will start race one from third place on the grid, and will be joined on the second row by another series returnee in the form of Russian Konstantin Tereschenko, who was the leading Campos Racing machine.

Thai driver Tanart Sathienthirakul was fifth fastest in the second West-Tec machine, ahead of John Simonyan, Damiano Fioravanti and Igor Walilko of RP Motorsport.

Leonardo Pulcini was ninth for DAV Racing with Andres Saravia completing the top ten in another of the RP Motorsport entries.

The session was suspended briefly with five minutes left to run when a car stopped on track, but Stern returned to the track to set the pole position time.

Jerez Race 1 Qualifying Result

[table id=102 /]

13729 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
EuroFormula Open

Ye Secures Double Victory at the Red Bull Ring, Maldonado Takes First EuroFormula Open Podiums

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye has now won five out of six races to start the 2020 EuroFormula Open season after a double victory at the Red Bull Ring.
EuroFormula Open

Dunner, Ye Continue Positive Start to 2020 for CryptoTower Racing

3 Mins read
CryptoTower Racing took both victories as the EuroFormula Open series hit the Circuit Paul Ricard in France for round two of 2020.
EuroFormula Open

Ye Welcomes in New Era of EuroFormula Open with Double Victory in Hungary

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye had a perfect weekend at the Hungaroring as the 2020 EuroFormula Open season finally got underway.