Tereschenko defeats Baptista for race two victory

Konstantin Tereschenko took his second victory of the 2015 EuroFormula Open season after fighting back against race one winner Vitor Baptista in race two at Paul Ricard.

RP Motorsport’s Baptista passed Campos Racing’s Tereschenko into the chicane down the Mistral Straight on lap three, just before the safety car was deployed to clear up a first lap crash between Diego Mencheca and Igor Walilko, which was instigated by Yarin Stern, who was forced to pit at the end of the first lap to replace a broken front wing.

By the time of the safety car, Baptista had also passed his RP Motorsport team-mate Damiano Fioravanti for second before hunting down Tereschenko. Alessio Rovera of BVM Racing also passed Fioravanti for third just before the safety car was deployed.

After the safety car, Baptista seemed to have the race under control, with Tereschenko being forced to look in his mirrors and fend off the challenge of Rovera, with the Italian having a good run down the Mistral straight before falling back from the Russian.

Having seen off the challenge of Rovera, Tereschenko then went after Baptista, and passed him down the Mistral Straight, having almost passed him exiting the final corner on lap twelve. The Campos Racing driver then controlled the race until the chequered flag to become the first two-time winner of 2015, with Baptista and Rovera completing the podium.

Fioravanti held on for fourth ahead of RP Motorsport team-mate Andres Saravia, while William Barbosa was sixth in the second BVM Racing machine, with the Colombian holding off Yu Kanamaru of Emilio de Villota Motorsport until the end.

Tanart Sathienthirakul was eighth for Team West-Tec F3 ahead of Stern, who was the biggest beneficiary of the safety car following his first lap wing change. The final point went to Henrique Baptista despite the Brazilian being spun following a clash with John Simonyan that eliminated the RP Motorsport driver.

But no one was to deny Tereschenko a jubilant win, with the Russian raising both hands out of the cockpit as he crossed the line. He also reclaimed the championship lead from Baptista, with Rovera still in touching distance in third.

Paul Ricard Race 2 Result

16Konstantin TereschenkoRUSCampos Racing35m12.640s
23Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport+0.784s
320Alessio RoveraITABVM Racing+1.657s
45Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport+7.411s
51Andres SaraviaGTMRP Motorsport+7.765s
619William BarbosaCOLBVM Racing+17.052s
716Yu KanamaruJPNEmilio de Villota Motorsport+17.366s
815Tanart SathienthirakulTHATeam West-Tec F3+21.007s
910Yarin SternISRTeam West-Tec F3+24.760s
108Henrique BaptistaBRZCampos Racing+30.685s
1177Leonardo PulciniITADAV Racing+33.692s
1218Michael DorrbeckerMEXEmilio de Villota Motorsport+35.433s
134Antonio PtakPOLRP Motorsport+1m04.869s
1417Jose Manuel VilaltaMEXEmilio de Villota Motorsport+1m05.650s
159Ahmad Al GhanemKWTCampos Racing+1m07.099s
162John SimonyanRUSMKTG5 Laps
1737Igor WalilkoPOLRP Motorsport0 Laps
187Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing0 Laps