Baptista claims race two win in Portugal

by Paul Hensby

Vitor Baptista passed Konstantin Tereschenko at the beginning of lap four in race two at Estoril and pulled away from the Russian to take his second victory of the EuroFormula Open season on Sunday.

RP Motorsport driver Baptista initially slipped in behind Campos Racing’s Tereschenko at the start, but unlike in race one, the Russian driver was unable to keep the Brazilian behind him, and once he was passed, Baptista pulled away and ended up finishing 9.601s clear at the chequered flag.

Yarin Stern had been on the tail of the Baptista/Tereschenko battle in his Team West-Tec F3 machine, but lost control at the exit of turn two just after the change of lead, and was forced to retire as a result of his excursion after hitting the barrier.

This enabled Tanart Sathienthirakul to take his second podium finish of the season in the second of the West-Tec cars, with the Thai driver holding off the challenge of Yu Kanamaru until the end, the Emilio de Villota Motorsport driver finishing just 0.394s behind.

Leonardo Pulcini was fifth for DAV Racing, meaning five different teams finished inside the top five places in Portugal, proving once more how competitive EuroFormula Open is in 2015. The Italian finished just ahead of Damiano Fioravanti in a second RP Motorsport entry, while Diego Mencheca (Campos Racing) and Andres Saravia (RP Motorsport) finished nose-to-tail in seventh and eighth.

Igor Walilko was ninth in another of the RP Motorsport machines, while Alessio Rovera finished tenth after a disappointing weekend for the BVM Racing driver after heading into the weekend third in the championship having finished on the podium in three of the opening four races of the season.

Estoril Race 2 Result

13Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport30m34.395s
26Konstantin TereschenkoRUSCampos Racing+9.601s
315Tanart SathienthirakulTHATeam West-Tec F3+11.975s
416Yu KanamaruJPNEmilio de Villota Motorsport+12.369s
577Leonardo PulciniITADAV Racing+22.422s
65Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport+23.290s
77Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing+26.189s
81Andres SaraviaGTMRP Motorsport+26.486s
937Igor WalilkoPOLRP Motorsport+30.280s
1020Alessio RoveraITABVM Racing+31.031s
1119William BarbosaCOLBVM Racing+38.253s
1224Alexey ChuklinRUSCorbetta Competizioni+40.682s
134Antonio PtakPOLRP Motorsport+42.051s
1418Michael DorrbeckerMEXEmilio de Villota Motorsport+54.688s
1517Jose Manuel VilaltaMEXEmilio de Villota Motorsport+1m07.015s
168Henrique BaptistaBRZCampos Racing+1 Lap
RET10Yarin SternISRTeam West-Tec F34 Laps
RET9Ahmad Al GhanemKWTCampos Racing0 Laps

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More