Iannone Takes Maiden MotoGP Pole at Mugello

Andrea Iannone delighted the thousands of Ducati fans at Mugello by claiming his maiden MotoGP pole position at Mugello. The 25 year old put his recent injuries behind him to snatch pole from Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo who unwittingly provided a valuable slipstream which assisted Iannone on his way to the fastest time.

Headlines were made elsewhere before the pole position shootout ever took place with Marc Marquez plunged into a Q1 dogfight after finishing a frantic FP3 down in eleventh place. The Honda RC213V continued to look decidedly nervous underneath the world champion who tumbled in FP4 but after setting a 1:47.240 in Q1, the Repsol Honda squad brought him in assuming he was safe.

The team would receive a nasty shock though with a minute to go as Yonny Hernandez clocked a 1:47.117 to relegate Marquez to third and with no time remaining to strike back, Marc was stranded, leaving him to start from a career-worst thirteenth in the premier class.

With his teammate eliminated, Dani Pedrosa took up the challenge for Repsol Honda in Q2 but he was fractionally outpaced on the first runs by Lorenzo who held provisional pole on a 1:46.808. At the start of his second run, Jorge improved to a 1:46.658 but little did he know, Iannone was locked onto his rear wheel and set a 1:46.489 to rip pole position from his grasp.

Although Lorenzo found time on his next lap, a poor final sector saw him stay in second and the Spaniard will be surrounded by the powerful Ducatis on the front row tomorrow after Andrea Dovizioso qualified third. Cal Crutchlow eventually finished as the leading Honda rider in fourth with Aleix Espargaro performing heroics to take fifth on the Suzuki after escaping Q1.

Michele Pirro gave Ducati yet more reasons to cheer with sixth place, outqualifying Pedrosa and championship leader Valentino Rossi, while Maverick Vinales shone to qualify ninth ahead of Pol Espargaro and Bradley Smith on the Tech 3 Yamahas.



PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time 
129. Andrea IannoneDucatiDucati Team1:46.489Q2
299. Jorge LorenzoYamahaMovistar Yamaha MotoGP1:46.584Q2
34. Andrea DoviziosoDucatiDucati Team1:46.610Q2
435. Cal CrutchlowHondaCWM LCR Honda1:46.657Q2
541. Aleix EspargaroSuzukiTeam SUZUKI ECSTAR1:46.854Q2
651. Michele PirroDucatiDucati Team1:46.870Q2
726. Dani PedrosaHondaRepsol Honda Team1:46.875Q2
846. Valentino RossiYamahaMovistar Yamaha MotoGP1:46.923Q2
925. Maverick VinalesSuzukiTeam SUZUKI ECSTAR1:46.934Q2
1044. Pol EspargaroYamahaMonster Yamaha Tech 31:47.050Q2
1138. Bradley SmithYamahaMonster Yamaha Tech 31:47.090Q2
1268. Yonny HernandezDucatiPramac Racing1:47.423Q2
1393. Marc MarquezHondaRepsol Honda Team1:47.240Q1
149. Danilo PetrucciDucatiPramac Racing1:47.497Q1
158. Hector BarberaDucatiAvintia Racing1:47.978Q1
166. Stefan BradlYamaha ForwardAthina Forward Racing1:48.047Q1
1745. Scott ReddingHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS1:48.120Q1
1876. Loris BazYamaha ForwardAthina Forward Racing1:48.133Q1
1969. Nicky HaydenHondaAspar MotoGP Team1:48.298Q1
2017. Karel AbrahamHondaAB Motoracing1:48.366Q1
2119. Alvaro BautistaApriliaAprilia Racing Team Gresini1:48.477Q1
2263. Mike Di MeglioDucatiAvintia Racing1:48.503Q1
2343. Jack MillerHondaCWM LCR Honda1:48.572Q1
2450. Eugene LavertyHondaAspar MotoGP Team1:48.638Q1
2515. Alex de AngelisARTOcto IodaRacing Team1:49.198Q1
2633. Marco MelandriApriliaAprilia Racing Team Gresini1:51.391Q1