Kent Smashes Lap Record to Take Mugello Pole

Danny Kent produced yet another blistering performance in a sensational 2015 campaign to claim pole position for the Italian Grand Prix at Mugello. The Briton spent much of the session waiting in the pits but once he returned to the race track, Kent unleashed a burst of pace that none of his rivals could get close to.

The championship leader made a bright start to the session, clocking a 1:57.832, but the value of a slipstream down the long pit straight was already becoming apparent as Niccolo Antonelli edged ahead by a tenth of a second, finding all of the time in the final sector. Kent soon responded to regain provisional pole but with so much time being lost out of the final corner, the Leopard Racing rider returned to his garage, waiting until the end of the session to make his move.

In his absence, Miguel Oliveira took over at the top of the leaderboard on a 1:57.647 but his spell as provisional polesitter was all-too brief as Romano Fenati, one of the many home favourites, clocked a 1:57.319. Fenati was chasing a maiden Moto3 pole position and the slipstream provided by Maria Herrera certainly played a part in his improvement, but his time was soon put in perspective when Kent returned to the action.

Choosing not to follow other riders, Kent circulated alone and within the first two sectors of his opening hot lap, the Briton was a second underneath Fenati’s benchmark. The lack of a tow did see that advantage shrink but Kent still claimed a comfortable pole position on a 1:56.615, the fastest ever Moto3 lap of Mugello.

Hiroki Ono latched onto the tail of his teammate in the closing stages to grab second, his career best qualifying result, while Fenati held onto third to claim just the second front row start of his career. Karel Hanika also qualified higher than ever before in fourth, edging out early polesitter Antonelli, with Jakub Kornfeil rounding out the second row.

Enea Bastianini will go in search of his maiden victory from seventh spot with compatriots Francesco Bagnaia and Andrea Locatelli for company on row three while Isaac Vinales completed the top ten, pushing Oliveira down to eleventh.



PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
152. Danny KentHondaLeopard Racing1:56.615
276. Hiroki OnoHondaLeopard Racing1:56.904
35. Romano FenatiKTMSky Racing Team VR461:57.319
498. Karel HanikaKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:57.329
523. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:57.333
684. Jakub KornfeilKTMDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:57.366
733. Enea BastianiniHondaJunior Team Gresini Moto31:57.393
821. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team1:57.529
955. Andrea LocatelliHondaJunior Team Gresini Moto31:57.551
1032. Isaac VinalesHusqvarnaHusqvarna Factory Laglisse1:57.647
1144. Miguel OliveiraKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:57.657
1241. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:57.696
1320. Fabio QuartararoHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:57.741
1458. Juanfran GuevaraMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team1:57.799
157. Efren VazquezHondaLeopard Racing1:57.833
1611. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP1:57.875
1795. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:57.887
189. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:57.905
1917. John McPheeHondaSaxoprint-RTG1:58.095
2088. Jorge MartinMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team1:58.098
2165. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing1:58.123
2231. Niklas AjoKTMRBA Racing Team1:58.181
2310. Alexis MasbouHondaSaxoprint-RTG1:58.322
2416. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR461:58.331
2563. Zulfahmi KhairuddinKTMDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:58.455
262. Remy GardnerMahindraCIP1:58.594
276. Maria HerreraHusqvarnaHusqvarna Factory Laglisse1:58.605
2840. Darryn BinderMahindraOutox Reset Drink Team1:58.616
2929. Stefano ManziMahindraSan Carlo Team Italia1:58.629
3012. Matteo FerrariMahindraSan Carlo Team Italia1:58.654
3122. Ana CarrascoKTMRBA Racing Team1:58.718
3219. Alessandro TonucciMahindraOutox Reset Drink Team1:58.787
3391. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team1:59.168
3473. Anthony GroppiFTR HondaPos Corse1:59.206
3572. Marco BezzecchiMahindraMinimoto Portmaggiore1:59.591
3624. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP1:59.975