Lorenzo Back On Form With Jerez Pole Position

Jorge Lorenzo looked back to his brilliant best on Saturday at Jerez, claiming a sensational pole position for the Spanish Grand Prix. The Movistar Yamaha rider was quickest in all three timed practice sessions prior to qualifying and converted that dominance into pole ahead of Marc Marquez and Ducati’s Andrea Iannone.

Marquez continues to ride in discomfort due to the injured finger sustained last weekend and the reigning champion did the nerves of Repsol Honda no good by sliding off in FP4, the front end of his RC213V washing out at turn one. Marc returned to the pits uninjured though and was able to take a full part in Q2.

On a number of occasions, Marquez was the fastest rider through the first three sectors but a stunning final sector from Lorenzo saw him set the initial pace on a 1:38.497. Pol Espargaro slotted into second on the Tech 3 Yamaha while Marquez completed his opening run in third.

As the final runs began, Lorenzo moved pole position even further out of his rivals’ reach with a 1:38.243 but Marquez produced an improved effort to secure second, a tenth clear of Iannone who clocked a 1:38.468 to clinch a front row berth for Ducati. The final word went to Jorge though who still had time to smash the circuit record with a 1:37.910, giving a four tenth cushion over the rest.

Pol Espargaro held onto fourth ahead of championship leader Valentino Rossi while Aleix Espargaro used the softer tyre to take the Suzuki onto the second row in sixth. Cal Crutchlow will head the third row ahead of the disappointing Andrea Dovizioso and Pramac’s Yonny Hernandez while British pair Bradley Smith and Scott Redding will line up together on the fourth row, tenth and twelfth respectively.



PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time 
199. Jorge LorenzoYamahaMovistar Yamaha MotoGP1:37.910Q2
293. Marc MarquezHondaRepsol Honda Team1:38.300Q2
329. Andrea IannoneDucatiDucati Team1:38.468Q2
444. Pol EspargaroYamahaMonster Yamaha Tech 31:38.539Q2
546. Valentino RossiYamahaMovistar Yamaha MotoGP1:38.632Q2
641. Aleix EspargaroSuzukiTeam SUZUKI ECSTAR1:38.638Q2
735. Cal CrutchlowHondaCWM LCR Honda1:38.714Q2
84. Andrea DoviziosoDucatiDucati Team1:38.823Q2
968. Yonny HernandezDucatiPramac Racing1:39.464Q2
1038. Bradley SmithYamahaMonster Yamaha Tech 31:39.491Q2
119. Danilo PetrucciDucatiPramac Racing1:39.789Q2
1245. Scott ReddingHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS1:39.825Q2
138. Hector BarberaDucatiAvintia Racing1:39.569Q1
1425. Maverick VinalesSuzukiTeam SUZUKI ECSTAR1:39.603Q1
1519. Alvaro BautistaApriliaAprilia Racing Team Gresini1:39.612Q1
167. Hiroshi AoyamaHondaRepsol Honda Team1:39.866Q1
1750. Eugene LavertyHondaAspar MotoGP Team1:39.974Q1
1869. Nicky HaydenHondaAspar MotoGP Team1:40.025Q1
196. Stefan BradlYamaha ForwardAthina Forward Racing1:40.166Q1
2017. Karel AbrahamHondaAB Motoracing1:40.177Q1
2176. Loris BazYamaha ForwardAthina Forward Racing1:40.280Q1
2243. Jack MillerHondaCWM LCR Honda1:40.365Q1
2363. Mike Di MeglioDucatiAvintia Racing1:40.817Q1
2415. Alex de AngelisARTOcto IodaRacing Team1:41.108Q1
2533. Marco MelandriApriliaAprilia Racing Team Gresini1:41.273Q1