Quartararo Beats the Rain to Grab Le Mans Pole

Fabio Quartararo will start his first ever home Grand Prix from pole position after rain brought a halt to qualifying at Le Mans. The French teenager clocked the fastest time in a frantic first few minutes before the weather turned nasty, ruining any chance of his rivals challenging him.

Conditions started to take a turn for the worse in the moments before qualifying got underway and predictably, a queue formed at the end of the pitlane to set a banker lap immediately. Many made mistakes as the drizzle steadily got heavier but Quartararo was the bravest rider of all, clocking a 1:44.763 to take pole by a tenth of a second from Estrella Galicia teammate Jorge Navarro.

The team’s initial joy was short-lived as Quartararo lost the front end of his Honda at turn one, seconds after setting the eventual pole time. The home favourite appeared to be suffering serious discomfort with his right hand but the smile soon returned once his pole position was confirmed. The timing of the shower wasn’t his only stroke of good fortune with Navarro barrelling into the gravel trap moments after him, thankfully avoiding his teammate.

The worst luck of all was saved for the Leopard Racing squad with all three of their riders failing to get a representative time in before the rain came down. As a result, championship leader Danny Kent will be at a serious disadvantage after qualifying 31st, although a penalty for Karel Hanika will promote him onto the tenth row.

Behind the Estrella Galicia Hondas, Francesco Bagnaia will start from the front row in third on his Mapfre Mahindra while Jakub Kornfeil will head the second row, just ahead of Romano Fenati and French youngster Jules Danilo. Niccolo Antonelli lines up seventh with Miguel Oliveira and Isaac Vinales for company on row three while Japanese rookie Tatsuki Suzuki took full advantage of the conditions to qualify a career-best tenth.



PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
120. Fabio QuartararoHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:44.763
29. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:44.885
321. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team1:45.457
484. Jakub KornfeilKTMDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:45.575
55. Romano FenatiKTMSky Racing Team VR461:45.665
695. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:45.671
723. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:45.689
844. Miguel OliveiraKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:46.011
932. Isaac VinalesHusqvarnaHusqvarna Factory Laglisse1:46.234
1024. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP1:46.846
116. Maria HerreraHusqvarnaHusqvarna Factory Laglisse1:46.885
1212. Matteo FerrariMahindraSan Carlo Team Italia1:46.974
1355. Andrea LocatelliHondaJunior Team Gresini Moto31:47.019
1429. Stefano ManziMahindraSan Carlo Team Italia1:47.027
1558. Juanfran GuevaraMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team1:47.037
1616. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR461:47.130
172. Remy GardnerMahindraCIP1:47.171
1833. Enea BastianiniHondaJunior Team Gresini Moto31:47.220
1917. John McPheeHondaSaxoprint-RTG1:47.225
2031. Niklas AjoKTMRBA Racing Team1:47.556
2119. Alessandro TonucciMahindraOutox Reset Drink Team1:47.623
2211. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP1:48.004
2391. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team1:48.134
2498. Karel HanikaKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:48.380
2541. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:48.402
2610. Alexis MasbouHondaSaxoprint-RTG1:48.474
2740. Darryn BinderMahindraOutox Reset Drink Team1:49.631
2822. Ana CarrascoKTMRBA Racing Team1:51.344
297. Efren VazquezHondaLeopard Racing1:52.610
3063. Zulfahmi KhairuddinKTMDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:52.778
3152. Danny KentHondaLeopard Racing1:52.819
3276. Hiroki OnoHondaLeopard Racing1:53.276
3365. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing1:54.836
3488. Jorge MartinMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team2:06.206