Quartararo Claims Maiden Moto3 Pole at Jerez

Fabio Quartararo has taken the first Moto3 pole position of his Grand Prix career after beating Danny Kent on Saturday at Jerez. The championship leader headed into qualifying as favourite having topped final practice but the Quartararo had other ideas, with the reigning CEV champion marking his first GP on Spanish soil with pole position.

Unlike in previous years, Spanish riders have not enjoyed their usual domination of the lightweight class but Isaac Vinales staked his claim for pole early on, clocking a 1:47.665. Danny Kent was having a frustrating start to the session with his attention taken by the pesky Romano Fenati who shadowed the Leopard Honda for almost the entire 40 minutes in the hope of finding a slipstream.

Kent finally found some clear tarmac to go quickest at the halfway stage to go fastest on a 1:47.163 but the Briton was only on top of the timesheets for a matter of seconds as Quartararo hit the front for the first time, breaking into the 1:46s. Kent maintained the momentum on his next lap to join the French rookie in the 1:47s but unfortunately for Leopard, he fell seven thousandths of a second short and wouldn’t improve again in the time that remained.

Quartararo did go slightly fastest to rubberstamp his maiden Grand Prix pole with Kent holding onto second while Miguel Oliveira gave KTM a bike on the front row with third place on a 1:46.984. The Portuguese rider saw his session come to a bizarre conclusion though as Italian rookie Stefano Manzi piled into the back of him while he waited for a practice start. Both avoided injury though with the Manzi suffering from a severe case of embarrassment, not helped by 33rd place grid slot.

Brad Binder heads an all-KTM second row ahead of Philipp Oettl and Karel Hanika with Enea Bastianini leading row three. Romano Fenati used the tow from Kent’s Honda to secure eighth on the grid ahead of Niccolo Antonelli and Jorge Navarro but John McPhee couldn’t find any pace on his Saxoprint-RTG Honda, leaving him down in 25th.



PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
120. Fabio QuartararoHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:46.791
252. Danny KentHondaLeopard Racing1:46.911
344. Miguel OliveiraKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:46.984
441. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:47.180
565. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing1:47.194
698. Karel HanikaKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:47.198
733. Enea BastianiniHondaJunior Team Gresini Moto31:47.251
85. Romano FenatiKTMSky Racing Team VR461:47.355
923. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:47.394
109. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:47.400
1110. Alexis MasbouHondaSaxoprint-RTG1:47.477
1284. Jakub KornfeilKTMDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:47.528
1332. Isaac VinalesHusqvarnaHusqvarna Factory Laglisse1:47.574
1476. Hiroki OnoHondaLeopard Racing1:47.657
1588. Jorge MartinMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team1:47.689
1621. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team1:47.704
177. Efren VazquezHondaLeopard Racing1:47.709
1858. Juanfran GuevaraMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team1:47.773
1931. Niklas AjoKTMRBA Racing Team1:47.794
2012. Matteo FerrariMahindraSan Carlo Team Italia1:47.857
2195. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:47.889
2211. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP1:47.941
2355. Andrea LocatelliHondaJunior Team Gresini Moto31:47.962
246. Maria HerreraHusqvarnaHusqvarna Factory Laglisse1:48.046
2517. John McPheeHondaSaxoprint-RTG1:48.142
262. Remy GardnerMahindraCIP1:48.142
2716. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR461:48.155
2840. Darryn BinderMahindraOutox Reset Drink Team1:48.224
2924. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP1:48.357
3063. Zulfahmi KhairuddinKTMDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:48.725
3119. Alessandro TonucciMahindraOutox Reset Drink Team1:48.925
3291. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team1:49.079
3329. Stefano ManziMahindraSan Carlo Team Italia1:49.266
3422. Ana CarrascoKTMRBA Racing Team1:50.045