Rejuvenated Lorenzo Reigns Supreme In Spain

Jorge Lorenzo signalled the start of his 2015 championship challenge with a truly dominant victory in the Spanish Grand Prix at Jerez. The Movistar Yamaha rider was in a class of his own in qualifying and led every lap of today’s race, proving once again what a magnificent frontrunner he is, easing away from Marc Marquez and Valentino Rossi.

The biggest opportunity for anyone to put some pressure on Lorenzo would come at the start but the polesitter made a beautiful getaway to lead Marquez into turn one. The same couldn’t be said for Andrea Iannone though who bogged down dreadfully on the Ducati and to make matters worse for the Bologna squad, Andrea Dovizioso skated off at the final corner on lap two, falling to the back of the field.

Rossi benefited from Iannone’s slow start to take fourth but the championship leader had to wait until the end of lap three to make further progress with Pol Espargaro bravely defending third. The Tech 3 rider was finally dispatched at turn thirteen but Rossi already had two seconds of empty tarmac between himself and second-placed Marquez.

For a number of laps, the race looked to be following a similar pattern to Argentina with ‘The Doctor’ chipping away at the world champion’s advantage and with seven laps remaining, the writing looked to be on the wall for no.93 with Rossi just a second behind. This time though, Marc did come up with a response and despite the injured finger, the Spaniard counter-attacked to take the advantage back over two seconds and secure the twenty points.

The day belonged to Lorenzo though with his lead growing to 5.5 seconds by the chequered flag over Marquez with Rossi taking third to consolidate his championship position. Cal Crutchlow rode superbly to take a comfortable fourth while Pol Espargaro faded to fifth, only just holding off a fast-closing Iannone in the closing stages.

Aleix Espargaro also came under late pressure but held onto seventh at the expense of Bradley Smith while Andrea Dovizioso recovered from his disastrous second lap to finish ninth, nine seconds clear of a five-way squabble for tenth which was ultimately settled in favour of Yonny Hernandez.



199. Jorge LorenzoYamahaMovistar Yamaha MotoGP44:57.246
293. Marc MarquezHondaRepsol Honda Team+5.576
346. Valentino RossiYamahaMovistar Yamaha MotoGP+11.586
435. Cal CrutchlowHondaCWM LCR Honda+22.727
544. Pol EspargaroYamahaMonster Yamaha Tech 3+26.620
629. Andrea IannoneDucatiDucati Team+27.021
741. Aleix EspargaroSuzukiTeam SUZUKI ECSTAR+35.445
838. Bradley SmithYamahaMonster Yamaha Tech 3+36.296
94. Andrea DoviziosoDucatiDucati Team+41.933
1068. Yonny HernandezDucatiPramac Racing+51.072
1125. Maverick VinalesSuzukiTeam SUZUKI ECSTAR+51.674
129. Danilo PetrucciDucatiPramac Racing+52.421
1345. Scott ReddingHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS+53.052
148. Hector BarberaDucatiAvintia Racing+53.200
1519. Alvaro BautistaApriliaAprilia Racing Team Gresini+57.344
166. Stefan BradlYamaha ForwardAthina Forward Racing+59.018
1769. Nicky HaydenHondaAspar MotoGP Team+1:01.506
1850. Eugene LavertyHondaAspar MotoGP Team+1:03.163
1933. Marco MelandriApriliaAprilia Racing Team Gresini+1:06.895
2043. Jack MillerHondaCWM LCR Honda+1:14.182
2115. Alex de AngelisARTOcto IodaRacing Team+1:26.832
2263. Mike Di MeglioDucatiAvintia Racing+1 Lap
NC7. Hiroshi AoyamaHondaRepsol Honda Team+13 Laps
NC17. Karel AbrahamHondaAB Motoracing+19 Laps
NC76. Loris BazYamaha ForwardAthina Forward Racing+24 Laps