Sasahara takes maiden pole for Spa race two

A day on from taking his maiden Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series victory, Japanese driver Ukyo Sasahara will start race two at Spa-Francorchamps from his maiden series pole position.

The ART Junior Team driver set the quickest time in the Group A session, which displaced Group B pacesetter Jake Hughes of Koiranen GP by 0.207s.

Ben Barnicoat will want to put his troubled Saturday race behind him, and will be in a great position to make amends for a pointless run with third place on the grid having set the second fastest time in Group A. He will be joined on the second row by his Fortec Motorsports team-mate Callan O’Keeffe.

Row three sees Frenchman Anthoine Hubert start fifth for Tech 1 Racing, alongside Swiss driver Kevin Jörg of Josef Kaufmann Racing, while row four sees wildcard entry Max Defourny of the ART Junior Team line-up alongside Russian driver Matevos Isaakyan of JD Motorsport.

Championship leader Louis Deletraz will start ninth for Josef Kaufmann Racing, with Jack Aitken of Koiranen GP completing the top ten for Sunday’s Eurocup finale.

Spa-Francorchamps Race 2 Qualifying Result

19Ukyo SasaharaJAPART Junior Team2m17.117s
22Jake HughesGBRKoiranen GP2m17.324s
36Ben BarnicoatGBRFortec Motorsports2m17.288s
47Callan O'KeeffeRSAFortec Motorsports2m17.430s
522Anthoine HubertFRATech 1 Racing2m17.344s
615Kevin JorgSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing2m17.482s
749Max DefournyBELART Junior Team2m17.504s
835Matevos IsaakyanRUSJD Motorsport2m17.584s
914Louis DeletrazSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing2m17.590s
103Jack AitkenGBRKoiranen GP2m17.645s
1119Ignazio D'AgostoITAManor MP Motorsport2m17.681s
1221Simon GachetFRATech 1 Racing2m17.657s
1327Harrison ScottGBRAVF2m17.820s
1417Dennis OlsenNORManor MP Motorsport2m17.756s
155Martin KodricCROFortec Motorsports2m17.847s
1636Thiago VivacquaBRZJD Motorsport2m18.045s
1710Darius OskouiSWIART Junior Team2m17.902s
1850Josef ZarubaCZEAVF2m18.265s
1947Nikita MazepinRUSJosef Kaufmann Racing2m17.913s
2045Ferdinand HabsburgAUTFortec Motorsports2m18.591s
2144Stefan RienerAUTKoiranen GP2m17.958s
2228Charlie EastwoodIRLAVF2m18.597s
2320Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing2m18.016s
241Anton de PasqualeAUSKoiranen GP2m18.624s
2518Lasse SorensenDENManor MP Motorsport2m18.193s
2646Valentin Hasse-ClotFRAManor MP Motorsport2m18.672s
2725Amaury RichardFRAARTA Engineering2m18.378s
2842Henrique ChavesPORAVF2m18.701s
298Luke ChudleighCANFortec Motorsports2m18.497s
3048Daniel PronenkoUKRBVM Racing2m18.882s
3126James AllenAUSARTA Engineering2m19.311s
3237Amaury BonduelFRAJD Motorsport2m18.902s
3340Bruno BaptistaBRZKoiranen GP2m19.479s
3443Philip HamprechtGERKoiranen GP2m18.932s