Tereschenko takes third pole of 2015 ahead of Baptista

Konstantin Tereschenko took his third pole position in five races in Estoril in a thrilling qualifying session at the former home of the Portuguese Formula 1 Grand Prix.

The Campos Racing driver and current EuroFormula Open Championship leader set a lap time of 1m32.774s to beat RP Motorsport’s Vitor Baptista by just 0.081s, while third placed Yarin Stern of Team West-Tec F3 was only a further 0.031s further back.

Also close in fourth was Andres Saravia, who managed to qualify just 0.188s shy of the pole position time as the top twelve drivers were all within one second of Tereschenko’s session-topping time.

Yu Kanamaru of Emilio de Villota Motorsport was fifth fastest ahead of Tanart Sathienthirakul in the second of the Team West-Tec F3 entries, while Damiano Fioravanti was seventh for RP Motorsport ahead of Leonardo Pulcini in the sole DAV Racing entry, a week on from his strong debut in Auto GP.

John Simonyan was ninth in the MKTG-backed RP Motorsport entry, while the top ten was completed by Alessio Rovera of BVM Racing, who had his least impressive performance so far this year after having taken three podium finishes from the first four races of the season.

Estoril Race 1 Qualifying Times

16Konstantin TereschenkoRUSCampos Racing1m32.774s
23Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport1m32.855s
310Yarin SternISRTeam West-Tec F31m32.886s
41Andres SaraviaGTMRP Motorsport1m32.962s
516Yu KanamaruJPNEmilio de Villota Motorsport1m33.016s
615Tanart SathienthirakulTHATeam West-Tec F31m33.224s
75Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport1m33.245s
877Leonardo PulciniITADAV Racing1m33.346s
92John SimonyanRUSMKTG1m33.498s
1020Alessio RoveraITABVM Racing1m33.523s
1137Igor WalilkoPOLRP Motorsport1m33.603s
127Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing1m33.768s
1318Michael DorrbeckerMEXEmilio de Villota Motorsport1m33.916s
144Antonio PtakPOLRP Motorsport1m34.037s
1519William BarbosaCOLBVM Racing1m34.114s
169Ahmad Al GhanemKWTCampos Racing1m34.129s
1724Alexey ChuklinRUSCorbetta Competizioni1m34.211s
188Henrique BaptistaBRZCampos Racing1m34.395s
1917Jose Manuel VilaltaMEXEmilio de Villota Motorsport1m35.599s