Bastianini Bags First Career Pole in Barcelona

Enea Bastianini will start from the first pole position of his Grand Prix career in Barcelona tomorrow after breaking the Catalunya circuit record in qualifying. The Italian teenager produced a sensational lap in the closing minutes to seal top spot with championship leader Danny Kent the only rider able to get within seven tenths of his time.

The Gresini rider looked competitive right from the start of qualifying with a 1:51.001 giving him a half second lead at the ten minute mark but it wasn’t until the final ten minutes were underway that the action truly commenced. In keeping with recent Moto3 sessions, the entire field seemed to hit the track at once with many seen waiting on the back straight for a slipstream, surely catching the attention of race direction with their antics.

The Estrella Galicia teammates somehow managed to navigate their way through the chaos to go first and second with Fabio Quartararo and Jorge Navarro breaking into the 1:50s but Bastianini responded with a lap almost a second faster than the rookies, clocking a 1:50.137 to regain provisional pole.

Attention then switched to the scrap for second place and Efren Vazquez looked to have the edge having set a 1:50.894 to edge out Quartararo but as the chequered flag flew, Mugello winner Miguel Oliveira went three hundredths faster to demote the Spaniard. Thankfully for Leopard, their lead rider was still on track and Danny Kent delivered with a 1:50.281 securing his place in the middle of the front row while Navarro struck back for Estrella Galicia, moving back into third.

Niccolo Antonelli left it late to snatch fourth with Oliveira and Vazquez rounding out the second row while Quartararo’s failure to improve in the dying seconds saw him punted back to seventh. The French rookie will have Niklas Ajo and Philipp Oettl for company on row three with Hiroki Ono maintaining his impressive run of results with tenth on the grid.



PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
133. Enea BastianiniHondaJunior Team Gresini Moto31:50.137
252. Danny KentHondaLeopard Racing1:50.281
39. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:50.840
423. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:50.848
544. Miguel OliveiraKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:50.857
67. Efren VazquezHondaLeopard Racing1:50.894
720. Fabio QuartararoHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:50.896
831. Niklas AjoKTMRBA Racing Team1:51.113
965. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing1:51.265
1076. Hiroki OnoHondaLeopard Racing1:51.290
1117. John McPheeHondaSaxoprint-RTG1:51.517
1298. Karel HanikaKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:51.528
135. Romano FenatiKTMSky Racing Team VR461:51.551
146. Maria HerreraHusqvarnaHusqvarna Factory Laglisse1:51.586
1588. Jorge MartinMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team1:51.597
1658. Juanfran GuevaraMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team1:51.721
1721. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team1:51.772
1841. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:51.822
1955. Andrea LocatelliHondaJunior Team Gresini Moto31:51.833
2032. Isaac VinalesHusqvarnaHusqvarna Factory Laglisse1:51.914
2116. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR461:52.137
2295. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:52.149
2310. Alexis MasbouHondaSaxoprint-RTG1:52.172
2419. Alessandro TonucciMahindraOutox Reset Drink Team1:52.191
252. Remy GardnerMahindraCIP1:52.283
2684. Jakub KornfeilKTMDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:52.459
2729. Stefano ManziMahindraSan Carlo Team Italia1:52.564
2824. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP1:52.620
2911. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP1:52.752
3040. Darryn BinderMahindraOutox Reset Drink Team1:52.813
3112. Matteo FerrariMahindraSan Carlo Team Italia1:52.869
3291. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team1:53.023
3363. Zulfahmi KhairuddinKTMDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:52.203
3422. Ana CarrascoKTMRBA Racing Team1:53.473