Deletraz back on top in Hungaroring qualifying

Championship leader Louis Deletraz took his third pole position of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series season for race one at the Hungaroring on Saturday.

The Josef Kaufmann Racing driver set a best time of 1m41.122s in Group A of the split-qualifying session, which ultimately proved enough to take top spot.

Briton Jack Aitken, a race winner at this circuit a year ago, will join him on the front row, with the Koiranen GP driver setting a lap of 1m41.164s to top Group B.

Row two sees Manor MP Motorsport driver Ignazio D’Agosto line-up alongside ART Junior Team driver Ukyo Sasahara, while the third row sees Ben Barnicoat of Fortec Motorsports alongside Friday pacesetter Kevin Jörg of Josef Kaufmann Racing.

Martin Kodric of Fortec Motorsports will start seventh, with Anthoine Hubert eighth for Tech 1 Racing, while Jake Hughes of Koiranen GP and Callan O’Keeffe of Fortec Motorsports complete the top ten.

Hungaroring Race 1 Qualifying Result

114Louis DeletrazSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing1m41.122s
23Jack AitkenGBRKoiranen GP1m41.164s
319Ignazio D'AgostoITAManor MP Motorsport1m41.520s
49Ukyo SasaharaJAPART Junior Team1m41.231s
56Ben BarnicoatGBRFortec Motorsports1m41.612s
615Kevin JorgSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing1m41.307s
75Martin KodricCROFortec Motorsports1m41.762s
822Anthoine HubertFRATech 1 Racing1m41.582s
92Jake HughesGBRKoiranen GP1m41.767s
107Callan O'KeeffeRSAFortec Motorsports1m41.692s
1127Harrison ScottGBRAVF1m41.911s
1221Simon GachetFRATech 1 Racing1m41.781s
1310Darius OskouiSWIART Junior Team1m41.974s
1428Charlie EastwoodIRLAVF1m42.049s
151Anton de PasqualeAUSKoiranen GP1m42.072s
1636Thiago VivacquaBRZJD Motorsport1m42.154s
1747Nikita MazepinRUSJosef Kaufmann Racing1m42.078s
1817Dennis OlsenNORManor MP Motorsport1m42.164s
1935Matevos IsaakyanRUSJD Motorsport1m42.261s
2020Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing1m42.166s
2137Amaury BonduelFRAJD Motorsport1m42.373s
2251Vasily RomanovRUSCram Motorsport1m42.477s
2325Amaury RichardFRAARTA Engineering1m42.564s
2418Lasse SorensenDENManor MP Motorsport1m42.558s
2526James AllenAUSARTA Engineering1m43.231s
2646Valentin Hasse-ClotFRAManor MP Motorsport1m42.632s