Kanamaru takes maiden victory in Silverstone opener

Yu Kanamaru finally took his maiden EuroFormula Open victory as he took advantage of a mistake by Vitor Baptista on lap eight to win race one at Silverstone.

Although the Japanese driver, driving for Emilio de Villota Motorsport, was unable to shake off the attention of the Brazilian driver, he did not put a foot wrong, and was able to take the chequered flag for his first victory.

Baptista’s runners-up spot means the RP Motorsport driver now leads the championship, as pre-race leader Konstantin Tereschenko could only finish down in seventh position.

Alessio Rovera took his fourth podium finish of the season in third, but had a lonely race in his BVM Racing machine, while Yarin Stern finished fourth for Team West-Tec F3, similarly ending the race more than ten seconds behind Rovera but more than thirteen seconds clear of fifth placed Diego Mencheca.

Mencheca was able to get ahead of Damiano Fioravanti of RP Motorsport in the final laps, with the two drivers ending the race just 0.532s apart, with both drivers able to get ahead of Tereschenko on the final lap.

Behind Tereschenko in seventh was Team West-Tec F3’s Tanart Sathienthirakul, who finished just 0.421s ahead of BVM Racing’s William Barbosa, while RP Motorsport’s Antoni Ptak took the final point, just ahead of Corbetta Competizioni’s Alexey Chuklin.

Ptak had been on course for eighth but for a last lap lunge from Henrique Baptista at Club corner that saw the Campos Racing driver hit the kerbing and get launched into the side of the RP Motorsport driver, with the floor of Baptista’s car getting dangerously close to the helmet of the Polish driver.

Front-row starter Leonardo Pulcini of DAV Racing was eliminated in a first lap clash with RP Motorsport’s Igor Walilko.

Silverstone Race 1 Result

116Yu KanamaruJPNEmilio de Villota Motorsport29m09.420s
23Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport+0.723s
330Alessio RoveraITABVM Racing+12.847s
410Yarin SternISRTeam West-Tec F3+23.095s
57Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing+36.456s
65Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport+36.988s
76Konstantin TereschenkoRUSCampos Racing+38.236s
815Tanart SathienthirakulTHATeam West-Tec F3+41.488s
919William BarbosaCOLBVM Racing+41.909s
104Antonio PtakPOLRP Motorsport+44.653s
1124Alexey ChuklinRUSCorbetta Competizioni+44.901s
129Ahmad Al GhanemKWTCampos Racing+1m03.642s
1317Jose Manuel VilaltaMEXEmilio de Villota Motorsport+1m08.050s
1437Igor WalilkoPOLRP Motorsport+1m57.428s
15/RET8Henrique BaptistaBRZCampos Racing+1 Lap
RET1Andres SaraviaGTMRP Motorsport12 Laps
RET77Leonardo PulciniITADAV Racing0 Laps