ADAC Formula 4

Mawson Wins After Two Red Flags

1 Mins read

Joey Mawson won the third ADAC Formula 4 race of the weekend to help his championship chances. The race was notably interrupted by many incidents including two red flags which eventually led to the race being stopped before the time limit.

The start of the race had already been delayed after a large crash in the GT4 European Series saw the organisers needing to clear the debris on track. But it would be Mawson starting on pole after a 20 minute delay.

The 30 minute race would see Mawson start ahead of Janneau Esmeijer, but a poor start saw him fall back slightly before damaging his front wing into the first corner. He dropped to fourth as the safety car came out after 1 lap. This was quickly made into a red flag as multiple incidents had to be cleared up.

Third place Mattia Drudi was involved in an incident on the run up to turn two as he was spun around, wiping out Guan Yu Zhou and Tim Zimmermann in the process. As the other cars avoided, Joel Eriksson was hit by championship rival Ralf Aron into turn 2.

Aron had lost his brakes and was lucky to not side swipe the Swede. Both drivers were forced to retire however, with various smaller incidents behind. This included Marvin Dienst who stalled at the start, pushing him to the back of the field. The race saw the top three championship challengers all not score points.

After an extended red flag the field got under way behind a safety car. Mawson lead from Beckmann, Robert Schwartzman, Esmeijer, Michael Waldherr and Marek Bockmann. With 10 minutes left, Waldherr made a move for the podium but instead ran wide and lost third and fourth to Jonathon Cecotto. Meanwhile Robin Brezina lost a possible points finish after a drive through.

Towards the end of the race Esmeijer finally caught and overtook Beckmann for second as Schwartzmann lost his front wing. It was caught under his car and he quickly dropped down the field, eventually pitting.

The debris from Schwartzmann as well as a crash with Job van Uitert and Florian Janits saw the red flag come out after a safety car. As a result, Mawson won from Esmeijer and Beckmann, with Waldherr, Cecotto and Kim-Luis Schramm rounding out the top six.

Credit: Nick Smith /
1347 posts

About author
Single-Seater Specialist who worked for TCF from 2015-19. Come finding me wandering the paddock.
Related posts
ADAC Formula 4Formula 3GB3Italian F4

Double F4 champion, GB3 race-winner Bearman joins Ferrari Driver Academy

2 Mins read
ADAC and Italian F4 champion, and GB3 race-winner Oliver Bearman has joined the Ferrari Driver Academy. He becomes the second British FDA driver after Callum Ilott.
ADAC Formula 4Formula 2Formula 3Formula 4Formula Regional European ChampionshipRising Stars

Who is Gianluca Petecof? The Brazilian set for F2 in 2021

4 Mins read
Gianluca Petecof will be joining the Formula 2 grid for 2021 with the rebranded Alpine team, TCF takes a look in how he has got to where he is today.
ADAC Formula 4Formula 3InterviewsItalian F4

Interview: Red Bull Junior Hauger Aiming to Be First Norwegian to Race in Formula 1

3 Mins read
Speaking to The Checkered Flag, Dennis Hauger wants to write his name in history by becoming the first Norwegian Formula 1 driver.