Oliveira Emerges Victorious From Moto3 Dogfight

by Louis Suddaby

Miguel Oliveira took his second career victory in Moto3 after fighting his way to the front of another thrilling seven-bike scrap at Assen. The lead changed several times per lap with Estrella Galicia pair Fabio Quartararo and Jorge Navarro coming agonisingly close to their first win but Oliveira timed his late move to perfection, snatching the lead decisively at the penultimate corner.

Starting from pole position, Enea Bastianini was another rider chasing a first Grand Prix win and the Italian led a leading group comprising of Oliveira, Danny Kent, Romano Fenati, Brad Binder and the two Estrella Galicia teenagers. Fenati’s extra corner speed through the Ramshoek left-hander often saw him lead the pack into the final chicane but with two laps remaining, Navarro had muscled his way to the front with Kent pushed to the back.

Oliveira, who had spent a number of laps in front through the middle phase of the race, dived back into the lead at Ramshoek on the penultimate lap but the emerging threat was coming from Quartararo who scythed past his teammate into second at the chicane. Halfway around the last lap, the rookie hit the front with a dive up the inside of Oliveira at Stekkenwal but as the riders fought four abreast on the run to Ramshoek, Oliveira edged ahead again to claim a stunning victory for KTM.

Having played it cool at the back of the group, Kent made rapid progress on the last lap and the championship leader looked to have taken advantage of Oliveira’s manoeuvre to snatch second from Quartararo but the Frenchman left his braking later at the final chicane, enabling him to hold off the Leopard Honda. Navarro missed out on a podium in fourth with Fenati relegated to fifth ahead of Bastianini and Binder.

Karel Hanika couldn’t go with the frontrunners despite qualifying on the front row although the Czech rider did finish in the lead of the second group, with eighth place the prize.  Niccolo Antonelli and John McPhee rounded out the top ten and were among the riders to benefit from a dramatic incident for Niklas Ajo who was highsided out of his seat at the chicane, leaving him to cling on to his handlebars and cross the finish line on his knees in seventeenth.



144. Miguel OliveiraKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo37:54.427
220. Fabio QuartararoHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+0.066
352. Danny KentHondaLeopard Racing+0.117
49. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+0.179
55. Romano FenatiKTMSky Racing Team VR46+0.252
633. Enea BastianiniHondaJunior Team Gresini Moto3+0.526
741. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+0.540
898. Karel HanikaKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+21.406
923. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold+21.472
1017. John McPheeHondaSaxoprint-RTG+21.663
1121. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team+21.693
1216. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR46+21.723
1311. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP+22.024
1476. Hiroki OnoHondaLeopard Racing+22.204
1565. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing+22.596
1695. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold+22.666
1731. Niklas AjoKTMRBA Racing Team+25.494
1888. Jorge MartinMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team+27.271
1940. Darryn BinderMahindraOutox Reset Drink Team+27.386
2084. Jakub KornfeilKTMDrive M7 SIC Racing Team+33.963
2119. Alessandro TonucciMahindraOutox Reset Drink Team+34.768
2229. Stefano ManziMahindraSan Carlo Team Italia+38.741
2322. Ana CarrascoKTMRBA Racing Team+51.803
2412. Matteo FerrariMahindraSan Carlo Team Italia+52.214
2591. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team+53.616
262. Remy GardnerMahindraCIP+1:38.917
2725. Jorel BoerboomKalex KTMFPW Racing+1 Lap
2886. Kevin HanusHondaTeam Hanusch+1 Lap
NC55. Andrea LocatelliHondaJunior Team Gresini Moto3+1 Lap
NC6. Maria HerreraHusqvarnaHusqvarna Factory Laglisse+10 Laps
NC58. Juanfran GuevaraMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team+10 Laps
NC32. Isaac VinalesHusqvarnaHusqvarna Factory Laglisse+11 Laps
NC63. Zulfahmi KhairuddinKTMDrive M7 SIC Racing Team+17 Laps
NC10. Alexis MasbouHondaSaxoprint-RTG+17 Laps
NC7. Efren VazquezHondaLeopard Racing+20 Laps
NC24. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP+23 Laps

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More