Tereschenko holds of Kanamaru charge for race 2 win

Konstantin Tereschenko held off the challenge of Yu Kanamaru to take his fourth victory of the 2015 EuroFormula Open season in race two at Silverstone, and retake the championship lead from Vitor Baptista.

Tereschenko took the lead on the opening lap, with pole sitter Kanamaru dropping down the order into the lower reaches of the top ten after bogging down at the start, but the Emilio de Villota Motorsport driver drove an excellent race to move back up to second, but was unable to pass the Campos Racing machine of Tereschenko despite almost constant pressure over the closing laps.

Alessio Rovera of BVM Racing got the lead into the first corner, but Tereschenko forced his way through heading into the Maggotts/Becketts complex, with both drivers taking to the run-off as a result, with the Russian coming out in front but Rovera dropped to fourth behind RP Motorsport duo Baptista and Andres Saravia.

Baptista made a challenge for the lead on Tereschenko, with the two drivers banging wheels out of Stowe Corner heading into the Vale, before Baptista lost out to Kanamaru for second at Brooklands.

Rovera challenged Baptista for the final podium spot, but ultimately lost out to the Brazilian and to fellow Italian Leonardo Pulcini of DAV Racing to finish fifth.

The fight for position was fierce up and down the field, with the battle for the lower points paying positions close throughout the race. Tanart Sathienthirakul ultimately finished sixth for Team West-Tec F3 ahead of Saravia, with Diego Mencheca of Campos Racing eighth.

William Barbosa finished ninth for BVM Racing ahead of Yarin Stern in tenth, who was forced wide at the loop on the opening lap and dropping back to the rear of the field.

Silverstone Race 2 Result

16Konstantin TereschenkoRUSCampos Racing29m07.822s
216Yu KanamaruJPNEmilio de Villota Motorsport+0.766s
33Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport+4.941s
477Leonardo PulciniITADAV Racing+6.399s
530Alessio RoveraITABVM Racing+7.176s
615Tanart SathienthirakulTHATeam West-Tec F3+8.014s
71Andres SaraviaGTMRP Motorsport+10.291s
87Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing+11.162s
919William BarbosaCOLBVM Racing+12.065s
1010Yarin SternISRTeam West-Tec F3+12.230s
118Henrique BaptistaBRZCampos Racing+13.307s
125Damiano FioravantiITARP Motorsport+13.718s
134Antonio PtakPOLRP Motorsport+19.528s
1424Alexey ChuklinRUSCorbetta Competizioni+29.199s
159Ahmad Al GhanemKWTCampos Racing+32.048s
1617Jose Manuel VilaltaMEXEmilio de Villota Motorsport+38.473s
1737Igor WalilkoPOLRP Motorsport+1m21.318s