British Rally Championship

British Rally Championship Organisers Announce 2016 Calendar

1 Mins read

Following the announcement earlier in the year that the British Rally Championship will be returning next year with four wheel drive machinery, the calendar for next season has now been unveiled.

Crews will compete on seven rounds throughout the British Isles on gravel and asphalt between March and September 2016. The series includes four events which have been retained from previous years, with three more events either returning to the series or making their first appearance.

The season starts on March 5 with the Mid Wales Stages before moving across the Irish Sea for the Circuit of Ireland Rally the following month. The championship moves on to the Pirelli Rally a few weeks later with the Jim Clark Rally following four weeks later.

The series moves on to the Scottish Rally at the end of June followed by a summer break. In August the series returns to Northern Ireland for the Ulster Rally before finishing up with the Granite City Rally in September.

“Compiling a brand new calendar has been one of the most challenging aspects of putting the new BRC together; every event and date change has ramifications across the sport and we have tried to be mindful of that.” said IMS Managing Director Ben Taylor.

“We are grateful to all the events that expressed an interest in being involved, either next year or in the future – they have taken a great leap of faith to support what we are trying to achieve. I am thrilled with the quality of the events that we have secured on the calendar and I am sure they will provide the best possible test of the best drivers in British rallying next year.”

The 2014 British Rally Championship was won by Irish driver Daniel McKenna, who now competes in the Junior World Rally Championship.

Provisional 2016 British Rally Championship Calendar

March 5th/6th 2016: Mid Wales Stages (Gravel)
April 8th/9th 2016: Circuit of Ireland (Asphalt)
April 29th/30th 2016: Pirelli Rally (Gravel)
May 27th/28th 2016: Jim Clark Rally (Asphalt)
June 24th/25th 2016: RSAC Scottish Rally (Gravel)
August 19th/20th 2016: Ulster Rally (Asphalt)
September 9th/10th 2016: Granite City Rally (Gravel)

242 posts

About author
Guest Contributor here at The Checkered Flag who will be predominantly covering the 2015 European Rally Championship I also cover the World Rally Championship on occasion. Can be found on Twitter at @matthewmcmahon5
Related posts
British Rally Championship

Nicky Grist Stages given green light but no spectators allowed

2 Mins read
Second round of the British Rally Championship given the go ahead but no spectators will be allowed on the Epynt Ranges.
British Rally Championship

Sam Moffett takes British Rally Championship opener at Oulton Park

2 Mins read
Sam Moffett increased his pace throughout the day at the Neil Howard Stages to claim his debut BRC victory.
British Rally Championship

Motorsport UK British Rally Championship kicks off 2021 season with Oulton Park opener

2 Mins read
The British Rally Championship finally returns after a 15 month lay-off with an event based entire at Oulton Park circuit.