Kent Holds On to German GP Pole Despite Crash

Danny Kent secured his third pole position of the 2015 Moto3 season despite a crash midway through qualifying which left him with a nervous wait. The Briton has completely dominated free practice and carried that advantage into qualifying, seeing off championship rival Enea Bastianini by half a second.

In truth, the identity of the polesitter was never in any genuine doubt with Kent clocking a 1:27.189 on his first flying lap before breaking into the 1:26s moments later. With a quarter of an hour to go, Danny consolidated his position with a 1:26.420 but that would be his final lap of the session after losing the front end of his Leopard Honda at turn six, wiping out the unfortunate wildcard Maximilian Kappler in the process.

Although he was forced to watch the remainder of the session from the garage, Danny remained relaxed and it was easy to see why with countless riders snookering themselves by waiting for clear space. Enea Bastianini was among the riders that appeared particularly frustrated but the Italian found enough space, and enough pace, to climb from eighteenth to second.

Karel Hanika took third despite a crash of his own, giving Red Bull KTM Ajo a welcome boost after Miguel Oliveira was forced to withdraw through injury. CEV champion Fabio Quartararo will line up fourth ahead of Efren Vazquez and Andrea Locatelli while Red Bull Rookies champion Jorge Martin heads row three, just in front of Jorge Navarro and Niccolo Antonelli.



PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
152. Danny KentHondaLeopard Racing1:26.420
233. Enea BastianiniHondaJunior Team Gresini Moto31:26.939
398. Karel HanikaKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:26.941
420. Fabio QuartararoHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:26.968
57. Efren VazquezHondaLeopard Racing1:27.005
655. Andrea LocatelliHondaJunior Team Gresini Moto31:27.130
788. Jorge MartinMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team1:27.160
89. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:27.253
923. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:27.313
1031. Niklas AjoKTMRBA Racing Team1:27.334
1141. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:27.355
1210. Alexis MasbouHondaSaxoprint-RTG1:27.356
135. Romano FenatiKTMSky Racing Team VR461:27.378
1432. Isaac VinalesHusqvarnaHusqvarna Factory Laglisse1:27.496
1511. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP1:27.536
1665. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing1:27.567
1763. Zulfahmi KhairuddinKTMDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:27.653
1884. Jakub KornfeilKTMDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:27.714
1940. Darryn BinderMahindraOutox Reset Drink Team1:27.828
2017. John McPheeHondaSaxoprint-RTG1:27.857
2195. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:27.863
2221. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team1:27.887
2376. Hiroki OnoHondaLeopard Racing1:27.921
2422. Ana CarrascoKTMRBA Racing Team1:28.031
2519. Alessandro TonucciMahindraOutox Reset Drink Team1:28.074
2658. Juanfran GuevaraMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team1:28.103
272. Remy GardnerMahindraCIP1:28.160
286. Maria HerreraHusqvarnaHusqvarna Factory Laglisse1:28.162
2929. Stefano ManziMahindraSan Carlo Team Italia1:28.171
3024. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP1:28.211
3112. Matteo FerrariMahindraSan Carlo Team Italia1:28.227
3216. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR461:28.232
3391. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team1:28.535
3497. Maximilian KapplerFTR HondaSaxoprint-RTG1:29.750
3545. Jonas GeitnerKTMFreudenberg Racing Team1:30.011
NQ44. Miguel OliveiraKTMRed Bull KTM AjoNo Time