Kent Proves Unstoppable In German GP

Danny Kent has tightened his grip on the 2015 Moto3 world championship after crushing the competition at the Sachsenring. The Briton was in a class of his own, producing the kind of dominance previously displayed in America and Argentina, to beat his Leopard Racing teammate Efren Vazquez by 7.5 seconds.

The pre-race headlines were made overnight by race direction’s decision to hand out three place grid penalties to no fewer than eleven riders for going too slow on the racing line during qualifying. Second-fastest qualifier Enea Bastianini was the most high-profile rider on the list, falling to fifth on the grid, but that didn’t stop him taking the fight to Kent in the early stages of the race.

The Italian’s hopes of a maiden Grand Prix win started to fade on lap four when he was overtaken by Vazquez and when he became embroiled in a battle with Karel Hanika for third, Bastianini soon lost contact with the Leopard duo. Vazquez comfortably eased away as the fighting intensified but the Spaniard wasn’t exactly putting his teammate under pressure, with Kent pulling away at half a second per lap.

With Danny enjoying the front of the race all to himself, the scrap for the final podium position became the main focus and Romano Fenati was emerging as the major threat to Bastianini. Having led a chasing group onto the tail of the podium challengers, the Sky VR46 began picking the riders off in front of him as he climbed from tenth right into the rostrum reckoning.

After overtaking three riders in a single manoeuvre on lap 23 to take fourth, Romano eased into third at the expense of Niccolo Antonelli but Bastianini wasn’t finished. Leaving his braking desperately late into the penultimate bend, Enea regained third and resisted a last corner lunge from his compatriot to take third with Fenati fourth ahead of Antonelli.

Jorge Navarro rode impressively once again to finish sixth ahead of Brad Binder and Alexis Masbou while Andrea Locatelli and Niklas Ajo, two other riders to receive pre-race penalties, rounded out the top ten. Karel Hanika, who started the race in second, faded dreadfully to an eventual thirteenth.



152. Danny KentHondaLeopard Racing39:29.359
27. Efren VazquezHondaLeopard Racing+7.554
333. Enea BastianiniHondaJunior Team Gresini Moto3+9.603
45. Romano FenatiKTMSky Racing Team VR46+9.629
523. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold+9.664
69. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+9.807
741. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+9.837
810. Alexis MasbouHondaSaxoprint-RTG+10.266
955. Andrea LocatelliHondaJunior Team Gresini Moto3+10.352
1031. Niklas AjoKTMRBA Racing Team+11.558
1165. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing+11.777
1288. Jorge MartinMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team+18.416
1398. Karel HanikaKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+18.426
1484. Jakub KornfeilKTMDrive M7 SIC Racing Team+28.782
1595. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold+28.892
1611. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP+28.958
1717. John McPheeHondaSaxoprint-RTG+29.218
1832. Isaac VinalesHusqvarnaHusqvarna Factory Laglisse+29.478
1963. Zulfahmi KhairuddinKTMDrive M7 SIC Racing Team+29.750
2040. Darryn BinderMahindraOutox Reset Drink Team+45.844
2116. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR46+46.658
2229. Stefano ManziMahindraSan Carlo Team Italia+46.780
232. Remy GardnerMahindraCIP+46.840
2419. Alessandro TonucciMahindraOutox Reset Drink Team+46.965
2512. Matteo FerrariMahindraSan Carlo Team Italia+47.339
2691. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team+1:06.125
2745. Jonas GeitnerKTMFreudenberg Racing Team+1:24.437
NC22. Ana CarrascoKTMRBA Racing Team+4 Laps
NC6. Maria HerreraHusqvarnaHusqvarna Factory Laglisse+4 Laps
NC24. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP+7 Laps
NC97. Maximilian KapplerFTR HondaSaxoprint-RTG+15 Laps
NC20. Fabio QuartararoHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+22 Laps
NC21. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team+22 Laps
NC76. Hiroki OnoHondaLeopard Racing+26 Laps
NS58. Juanfran GuevaraMahindraMapfre Mahindra TeamInjured
NS44. Miguel OliveiraKTMRed Bull KTM AjoInjured