Rejuvenated Marquez on Pole in Germany

Marc Marquez continued his recent revival by claiming a sensational pole position for the German Grand Prix, his first since Le Mans in May. The world champion smashed the Sachsenring lap record to see of Repsol Honda teammate Dani Pedrosa with Jorge Lorenzo half a second back on the leading Movistar Yamaha.

Andrea Iannone was the rider to make the quickest start in Q2, making good use of a slipstream from Lorenzo’s Yamaha, but Marquez soon established his superiority with a 1:20.838, already faster than the previous circuit record.

Lorenzo had no answer initially to the pace of the Honda but did eventually join Marc in the 1:20s on his second run. Little did he know it though, Marquez was already embarking on another record-breaking run and a 1:20.336 in the final two minutes saw him rubberstamp his place at the front of the grid. Pedrosa had briefly moved to the top of the leaderboard before falling back to second while Lorenzo had to make do with a place on the outside of row one.

Iannone tumbled down to fourth ahead of Yonny Hernandez who matched his career-best grid position in fifth while championship leader Valentino Rossi ensured he will start inside the front two rows with sixth spot, 0.884s off the pace.

Aleix Espargaro starts seventh for Suzuki, just ahead of his brother Pol, while Bradley Smith’s impressive practice pace didn’t quite translate into a lofty grid position, thanks in part to a huge moment at turn twelve on his first run. The Briton lines up ninth, one spot ahead of compatriot Cal Crutchlow.



PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time 
193. Marc MarquezHondaRepsol Honda Team1:20.336Q2
226. Dani PedrosaHondaRepsol Honda Team1:20.628Q2
399. Jorge LorenzoYamahaMovistar Yamaha MotoGP1:20.921Q2
429. Andrea IannoneDucatiDucati Team1:21.029Q2
568. Yonny HernandezDucatiPramac Racing1:21.115Q2
646. Valentino RossiYamahaMovistar Yamaha MotoGP1:21.220Q2
741. Aleix EspargaroSuzukiTeam SUZUKI ECSTAR1:21.239Q2
844. Pol EspargaroYamahaMonster Yamaha Tech 31:21.274Q2
938. Bradley SmithYamahaMonster Yamaha Tech 31:21.329Q2
1035. Cal CrutchlowHondaCWM LCR Honda1:21.409Q2
114. Andrea DoviziosoDucatiDucati Team1:21.503Q2
1225. Maverick VinalesSuzukiTeam SUZUKI ECSTAR1:21.796Q2
138. Hector BarberaDucatiAvintia Racing1:21.628Q1
1445. Scott ReddingHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS1:21.632Q1
159. Danilo PetrucciDucatiPramac Racing1:21.760Q1
1619. Alvaro BautistaApriliaAprilia Racing Team Gresini1:22.049Q1
1715. Alex de AngelisARTOcto IodaRacing Team1:22.195Q1
1843. Jack MillerHondaCWM LCR Honda1:22.225Q1
1969. Nicky HaydenHondaAspar MotoGP Team1:22.362Q1
2076. Loris BazYamaha ForwardAthina Forward Racing1:22.394Q1
2163. Mike Di MeglioDucatiAvintia Racing1:22.441Q1
227. Hiroshi AoyamaHondaAB Motoracing1:22.543Q1
2350. Eugene LavertyHondaAspar MotoGP Team1:22.693Q1
2470. Michael LavertyApriliaAprilia Racing Team Gresini1:22.947Q1
2571. Claudio CortiYamaha ForwardAthina Forward Racing1:23.374Q1