ADAC Formula 4

Joey Mawson wins Race 3 after outstanding Drive

1 Mins read

Joey Mawson wins his third ADAC Formula 4 race of the year to get his championship credentials back on track in a weekend that saw the top three points leaders break away from the pack. The win means he leaves the Sachsenring with the championship momentum.

It was another race that was full of delays with the safety car making an appearance three time during the session. Just like in race one, the most dramatic crash was the final one that happened at the first corner.

Moritz Muller-Crepon had been running as high as eighth, but a mistake in the early stages saw him fall to the back. In a desperate attempt to work his way back up he edged Jonathon Cecotto to the inside of the track, eventually launching the Venezuelan. Cecotto would crash over the top of Michael Waldherr, seeing them both retire.

Waldherr had started on pole after finishing tenth in the opening race. However; stalled as the lights went out destroying his chance of points in a race that could have promised so much.

Mawson, like his championship rivals, had started further down the grid but soon worked his way back up and was fighting for fourth when the first safety car came out. He would continue to fight with Joel Eriksson and Marvin Dienst behind for much of the race, with the position regularly swapping hands.

After jumping up to third between the second and third safety cars, Mawson set about chasing the leader, with Dienst quick to follow. The two eventually demoting race-long leader Kim-Luis Schramm with two minutes to go.

Schramm was hoping for a strong result at his home event and will be happy to have come away with his first podium of the season.

Eriksson did not follow his rivals through and would settle for sixth. Mike Ortmann and David Beckmann had been running second and third for much of the race, but the two had to settle for fourth and fifth after the eventual winners came rampaging past.

Jason Kremer claimed seventh, while the final points positions were taken by drivers putting in amazing recovery drives. Eighth placed Tim Zimmermann had to pit on the first two laps, while Janneau Esmeijer and Robert Shwartzman claimed points after starting at the back, because of their crash in race one.

Credit: Nick Smith /
1347 posts

About author
Single-Seater Specialist who worked for TCF from 2015-19. Come finding me wandering the paddock.
Related posts
ADAC Formula 4Formula 3GB3Italian F4

Double F4 champion, GB3 race-winner Bearman joins Ferrari Driver Academy

2 Mins read
ADAC and Italian F4 champion, and GB3 race-winner Oliver Bearman has joined the Ferrari Driver Academy. He becomes the second British FDA driver after Callum Ilott.
ADAC Formula 4Formula 2Formula 3Formula 4Formula Regional European ChampionshipRising Stars

Who is Gianluca Petecof? The Brazilian set for F2 in 2021

4 Mins read
Gianluca Petecof will be joining the Formula 2 grid for 2021 with the rebranded Alpine team, TCF takes a look in how he has got to where he is today.
ADAC Formula 4Formula 3InterviewsItalian F4

Interview: Red Bull Junior Hauger Aiming to Be First Norwegian to Race in Formula 1

3 Mins read
Speaking to The Checkered Flag, Dennis Hauger wants to write his name in history by becoming the first Norwegian Formula 1 driver.