Lorenzo Sets Blistering Qualifying Pace at Brno

1 Mins read

Jorge Lorenzo set the fastest ever two-wheeled lap of Brno to claim pole position for tomorrow’s Czech Republic Grand Prix. The predicted battle between the Yamaha rider and reigning champion Marc Marquez came to fruition with the pair smashing lap records as they contested pole position.

Yamaha had signalled their intentions in final practice with Lorenzo topping the timesheets by half a second from teammate Valentino Rossi and while the championship leader was busy scrubbing in a new front tyre ahead of tomorrow’s race, Lorenzo leapt straight to the top of the Q2 leaderboard with a 1:55.238, already quicker than the previous pole record.

Marquez slotted into second, three tenths behind, and headed back out on track for his second run mindful that a lap in the low 1:55s was the minimum requirement. The world champion delivered with a minute to go, clocking a 1:55.063, but he hadn’t bargained for a sub-1:55 lap from Lorenzo. The Yamaha rider produced a sensational effort to set a 1:54.989, securing him his second pole position of the year.

Arguably the most important lap of the afternoon came moments later though as Rossi rescued a potentially disastrous afternoon with third place, edging out Andrea Iannone and Bradley Smith who both had eyes on a front row start.

Andrea Dovizioso will complete the second row on the second factory Ducati with Maverick Vinales seventh on the sole Suzuki to reach Q2. Pol Espargaro needed to navigate his way through Q1 before securing eighth spot with Dani Pedrosa overcoming a bruised ankle to qualify ninth, just ahead of Cal Crutchlow.



[table id=520 /]

5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts
MotoGPNitro Rallycross

KymiRing project unravels with bankruptcy, major series exits

2 Mins read
With KymiRing’s track builders declaring bankruptcy, Motocross World Championship relocating its date, MotoGP repeatedly postponing its race there, and Nitro Rallycross cancelling its visit, the Finnish circuit’s future is anything but bright.
FIA WECFormula 1MotoGP

Eau Rouge Grandstand Opens at Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps

2 Mins read
After two years of track renovations, the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps has opened its highly anticipated Eau Rogue / Raidillon grandstand.

Dani Pedrosa to make car racing debut in Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe

1 Mins read
MotoGP veteran Dani Pedrosa will race cars for the first time when he competes in Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe for FFF Racing Team alongside Antonin Borga.