Aitken takes second 2015 Eurocup victory at Silverstone

by Paul Hensby

Jack Aitken led home a British driver 1-2-3 finish in race one at Silverstone, a race red-flagged at the end of lap one following two frightening-looking incidents for Fortec Motorsport drivers.

The first incident was for Jehan Daruvala, who rolled his Force India-backed car after a clash with team-mate Ben Barnicoat at Becketts, ending up on top of the safety barrier.

The second was even more spectacular, when, as the safety car was deployed for Daruvala’s crash, Barnicoat was again involved when his team-mate Ferdinand Habsburg failed to notice drivers slowing down in front of him and struck Barnicoat at high-speed and was launched high into the air, luckily landing the right way up.

Despite getting out of the car unaided, medics put Habsburg into an ambulance as a precaution, with the young Austrian complaining of a sore neck and knee.

When the race resumed, Aitken controlled the race, eventually winning at a canter by 4.627s from fellow front row starter Harrison Scott of AVF, while Jake Hughes made a late race pass on Kevin Jörg to make it three Brits on the podium for Koiranen GP.

Behind Jörg in fourth was ART Junior Team driver Darius Oskoui, who held off the challenge of Manor MP MotorsportsDennis Olsen to the flag, while Martin Kodric and Callan O’Keeffe were seventh and eighth for Fortec.

Championship leader Louis Deletraz took advantage of the carnage ahead of him to finish ninth for Josef Kaufmann Racing, while Will Palmer completed the top ten in his wild card race for ART.

Fortec will have a lot of work to do to get their drivers out for race two, with the cars of Barnicoat, Daruvala and Habsburg all looking worse for wear after the race.

Silverstone Race 1 Result

13Jack AitkenGBRKoiranen GP57m34.353s
227Harrison ScottGBRAVF+4.627s
32Jake HughesGBRKoiranen GP+6.997s
415Kevin JorgSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing+7.234s
510Darius OskouiSWIART Junior Team+8.242s
617Dennis OlsenNORManor MP Motorsport+8.681s
75Martin KodricCROFortec Motorsports+10.357s
87Callan O'KeeffeRSAFortec Motorsports+11.160s
914Louis DeletrazSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing+12.062s
1053Will PalmerGBRART Junior Team+14.492s
1136Thiago VivacquaBRZJD Motorsport+15.742s
129Ukyo SasaharaJAPART Junior Team+15.832s
1319Ignazio D'AgostoITAManor MP Motorsport+19.736s
1422Anthoine HubertFRATech 1 Racing+20.209s
1528Charlie EastwoodIRLAVF+22.049s
1635Matevos IsaakyanRUSJD Motorsport+22.216s
171Anton de PasqualeAUSKoiranen GP+22.749s
1821Simon GachetFRATech 1 Racing+24.486s
1925Amaury RichardFRAARTA Engineering+28.002s
2047Nikita MazepinRUSJosef Kaufmann Racing+30.089s
2152Matteo FerrerITACram Motorsport+31.859s
2226James AllenAUSARTA Engineering+33.469s
238Valentin Hasse-ClotFRAFortec Motorsports+35.742s
2420Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing+35.824s
RET6Ben BarnicoatGBRFortec MotorsportsRetired
RET45Ferdinand HabsburgAUTFortec MotorsportsRetired
RET54Jehan DaruvalaINDFortec MotorsportsRetired

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More