Aitken takes victory as title battle heats up

Jack Aitken held off the race-long challenge of Ukyo Sasahara to take his third victory of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series as the battle for the championship closed up once more at the Nurburgring.

The British Koiranen GP driver took advantage of a slow start from pole sitter Louis Deletraz, who found himself down in sixth at the end of the first lap, to take the win and move himself firmly into championship contention.

Sasahara started fourth but gave Aitken a tough challenge, with the ART Junior Team driver securing his fourth podium finish of the season, with Matevos Isaakyan securing his second trip to the podium of 2015 in third.

Fortec MotorsportsBen Barnicoat got the better of Koiranen GP’s Jake Hughes for fourth, while Josef Kaufmann Racing’s Deletraz could not improve on the position he found himself in on the opening lap, and could only finish sixth.

Wild card entrant Jehan Daruvala secured his first top ten finish in Eurocup with seventh for Fortec Motorsports, ahead of Kevin Jörg of Josef Kaufmann Racing, while Martin Kodric of Fortec Motorsports and Dennis Olsen of Manor MP Motorsport secured ninth and tenth.

With Daruvala ineligible to score points, Tech 1 Racing’s Anthoine Hubert secured the final point on offer despite finishing eleventh on the road.

The safety car made a brief appearance at the end of the second lap when on two consecutive laps, drivers found themselves beached in the gravel trap at the final corner, with Hugo de Sadeleer retiring on the opening lap after a clash with Bruno Baptista and Henrique Chaves, while Valentin Hasse-Clot followed suit a lap later after a clash with Pontus Fredricsson.

The result of the race means Deletraz remains in the lead of the championship by three points from team-mate Jörg, with Aitken a further point back in third and Hughes fourth, only six points down on the leader.

Nurburgring Race 1 Result

13Jack AitkenGBRKoiranen GP25m14.532s
29Ukyo SasaharaJAPART Junior Team+0.459s
335Matevos IsaakyanRUSJD Motorsport+1.424s
46Ben BarnicoatGBRFortec Motorsports+1.820s
52Jake HughesGBRKoiranen GP+2.464s
614Louis DeletrazSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing+2.743s
754Jehan DaruvalaINDFortec Motorsports+3.797s
815Kevin JorgSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing+5.571s
95Martin KodricCROFortec Motorsports+6.334s
1017Dennis OlsenNORManor MP Motorsport+6.777s
1122Anthoine HubertFRATech 1 Racing+7.477s
1210Darius OskouiSWIART Junior Team+8.552s
1336Thiago VivacquaBRZJD Motorsport+11.496s
1421Simon GachetFRATech 1 Racing+12.192s
157Callan O'KeeffeRSAFortec Motorsports+12.875s
1656Daniel TicktumGBRKoiranen GP+14.120s
171Anton de PasqualeAUSKoiranen GP+14.467s
1845Ferdinand HabsburgAUTFortec Motorsports+15.044s
1955Dries VanthoorBELJosef Kaufmann Racing+17.315s
2051Vasily RomanovRUSCram Motorsport+17.942s
2137Nikita TroitskiyRUSJD Motorsport+18.742s
2249Max DefournyBELART Junior Team+18.918s
2344Stefan RienerAUTKoiranen GP+19.765s
2426James AllenAUSARTA Engineering+21.450s
2527Harrison ScottGBRAVF+21.848s
2648Daniel PronenkoUKRBVM+22.523s
2718Bruno BaptistaBRZManor MP Motorsport+23.090s
2825Amaury RichardFRAARTA Engineering+25.047s
2957Pontus FredricssonSWEPrizma Motorsport+28.305s
3046Christopher AnthonyAUSManor MP Motorsport+28.662s
31/RET42Henrique ChavesPORAVF+2 Laps
RET19Ignazio D'AgostoITAManor MP MotorsportRetired
RET8Valentin Hasse-ClotFRAFortec MotorsportsRetired
RET20Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 RacingRetired
RET28Josef ZarubaCZEAVFRetired