EuroFormula Open

Baptista beats Tereschenko to opening Spa victory

1 Mins read

Vitor Baptista took his fourth victory of the season at Spa-Francorchamps to close the gap to championship leader Konstantin Tereschenko to just four points with just five races of the EuroFormula Open season to go.

Baptista jumped into the lead at the first corner following a slow getaway from Tereschenko, but the Russian got back ahead down the Kemmel Straight, before a mistake by Baptista at Les Combes allowed Tanart Sathienthirakul through into second.

RP Motorsport’s Baptista managed to claim second place back on the run down to the Bus Stop chicane on the following lap, and then cut down the lead and passed Campos Racing’s Tereschenko down the Kemmel Straight on lap five, before holding the Russian behind until the chequered flag.

Behind the top two, Team West-Tec F3’s Sathienthirakul was unable to keep hold of third, ultimately finishing fifth behind Leonardo Pulcini of DAV Racing and Yu Kanamaru of Emilio de Villota Motorsport, who both caught and passed the Thai driver.

Damiano Fioravanti was on course for sixth but a damaged front wing on his RP Motorsport machined compromised his afternoon and he was eventually forced to retire, meaning Alessio Rovera claimed sixth for DAV Racing, with Antoni Ptak of RP Motorsport getting ahead of Yarin Stern of Team West-Tec F3 for seventh, with RP Motorsport’s Andres Saravia and BVM Racing’s William Barbosa completing the points finishers.

But no-one could keep up with Baptista and Tereschenko, with the Brazilian getting the victory, and it’s looking ever more likely one of those two drivers will claim the title in 2015.

Spa-Francorchamps Race 1 Result

[table id=571 /]

12250 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
EuroFormula Open

Ye Secures Double Victory at the Red Bull Ring, Maldonado Takes First EuroFormula Open Podiums

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye has now won five out of six races to start the 2020 EuroFormula Open season after a double victory at the Red Bull Ring.
EuroFormula Open

Dunner, Ye Continue Positive Start to 2020 for CryptoTower Racing

3 Mins read
CryptoTower Racing took both victories as the EuroFormula Open series hit the Circuit Paul Ricard in France for round two of 2020.
EuroFormula Open

Ye Welcomes in New Era of EuroFormula Open with Double Victory in Hungary

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye had a perfect weekend at the Hungaroring as the 2020 EuroFormula Open season finally got underway.