Baptista untroubled to take race two win at wet Spa

Vitor Baptista became the first driver in 2015 to win both races during a EuroFormula Open weekend as he comfortably led from start to finish at Spa-Francorchamps to take over the championship lead from Konstantin Tereschenko.

RP Motorsport’s Baptista made a good start from pole position to lead into the first corner, and was not troubled throughout the thirteen-lap race that was held in tricky conditions after pre-race rain.

Tereschenko claimed second place to remain close behind the championship hunt, but not before having to pass Igor Walilko, who had made a good start to move into second place at the first corner as Campos Racing’s Tereschenko made a sluggish start to drop down to fourth from the front row.

Walilko kept hold of third position for his maiden podium finish in the series, just ahead of Thai driver Tanart Sathienthirakul of Team West-Tec F3.

Antoni Ptak of RP Motorsport got the better of Team West-Tec F3’s Yarin Stern to take fifth, while William Barbosa took seventh for BVM Racing ahead of debutant Kusiri Kantadhee of RP Motorsport.

Mexican Diego Menchaca of Campos Racing and Parth Ghorpede of DAV Racing completed the top ten, while the other two DAV Racing entries were both forced into early retirement, Alessio Rovera with damage and Leonardo Pulcini with a mechanical issue.

Spa-Francorchamps Race 2 Result

13Vitor BaptistaBRZRP Motorsport33m26.975s
26Konstantin TereschenkoRUSCampos Racing+11.152s
337Igor WalilkoPOLRP Motorsport+12.125s
415Tanart SathienthirakulTHATeam West-Tec F3+12.707s
54Antoni PtakPOLRP Motorsport+24.547s
610Yarin SternISRTeam West-Tec F3+27.690s
719William BarbosaCOLBVM Racing+35.321s
82Kusiri KantadheeTHAMKTG+35.989s
97Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing+40.183s
1070Parth GhorpadeINDDAV Racing+41.618s
1116Yu KanamaruJPNEmilio de Villota Motorsport+42.414s
1217Jose Manuel VilaltaMEXEmilio de Villota Motorsport+44.929s
131Andres SaraviaGTMRP Motorsport+52.328s
149Ahmad Al GhanemKWTCampos Racing+1m05.503s
158Henrique BaptistaBRZCampos Racing+1m06.318s
RET5Damiano FioravantiITARP MotorsportRetired
RET77Leonardo PulciniITADAV RacingRetired
RET21Alessio RoveraITADAV RacingRetired