Formula Renault 2.0

Barnicoat benefits from JKR battle to take Le Mans win

1 Mins read

Ben Barnicoat secured his second Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series victory in as many races as he took advantage of the battle between Kevin Jörg and Louis Deletraz to win race one around the Bugatti circuit of Le Mans on Saturday.

Josef Kaufmann Racing duo Jörg and Deletraz were battling for the lead on the opening lap when Deletraz cut the chicane and rejoined ahead of Jörg, only to slow to allow his Swiss team-mate back through into the lead, only for Fortec Motorsports’ Barnicoat to sweep past the pair of them.

Barnicoat was unable to shake off the challenge of Jörg throughout the race, finishing just 1.456s ahead, but Deletraz dropped back and although held on for the podium, was forced to hold off the challenge of Koiranen GP’s Jack Aitken and ART Junior Team’s Ukyo Sasahara until the chequered flag.

Frenchman Anthoine Hubert took sixth for Tech 1 Racing having passed Manor MP Motorsport’s Dennis Olsen, while the Norwegian driver’s team-mate Ignazio D’Agosto claimed eighth.

Valentin Hasse-Clot secured his first points of the season with ninth for Fortec Motorsports, with his team-mate Martin Kodric claiming the final point in tenth.

Deletraz still retains the lead in the championship, but now only holds a two-point advantage over Jörg, while Aitken is a further nine points back in third. It was a bad day in the office for another of the championship contenders Jake Hughes however, with the Briton retiring after losing a wheel while running in the top ten.

Le Mans Race 1 Result

[table id=634 /]

13769 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.