Formula Renault 2.0

Double Silverstone pole for Jack Aitken

1 Mins read

Jack Aitken took pole position for both race one and two at Silverstone during qualifying on Saturday morning as the current Eurocup Formula Renault Series championship leader Louis Deletraz struggled.

Aitken, racing this year for Koiranen GP, set two laps within 0.001s of each other to take the top spot for both races, with his 1m57.294s enough to displace Group A pacesetter Harrison Scott of AVF.

Scott will start race one from the front row, while row two sees Kevin Jörg of Josef Kaufmann Racing alongside Darius Oskoui of ART Junior Team, while row three sees Koiranen GP of Jake Hughes alongside one of Fortec Motorsports’ wild card entries this weekend Jehan Daruvala.

Dennis Olsen of Manor MP Motorsport will start seventh, while Fortec Motorsports trio Ben Barnicoat, Ferdinand Habsburg and Martin Kodric complete the top ten.

Championship leader Deletraz could only qualify in twelfth for Josef Kaufmann Racing, just behind ART Junior Team’s wild card entry Will Palmer.

For race two, Aitken set a best time of 1m57.295s to take top spot, and will be joined on the front row this time by Barnicoat, while Jörg and Scott form row two ahead of Hughes and Deletraz.

Ukyo Sasahara will start race two from eighth for ART Junior Team ahead of JD Motorsport’s Thiago Vivacqua and Oskoui.

Anthoine Hubert, currently sitting third in the championship, had a disappointing session, spinning at high-speed at Copse corner and qualifying in eighteenth and twenty-second respectively for the two races in his Tech 1 Racing entry.

Silverstone Race 1 Qualifying Result

[table id=567 /]

Silverstone Race 2 Qualifying Result

[table id=568 /]

13769 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.