Formula Renault 2.0

Hubert grabs maiden Eurocup pole for Silverstone finale

1 Mins read

Frenchman Anthoine Hubert put his troubled Saturday performances behind him to take a convincing pole position for race three at Silverstone on Sunday morning.

Under blue skies, the Tech 1 Racing driver set a best time in the Group A of 1m56.361s to jump to the front of the field and relegating Group B pacesetter and race two winner Kevin Jörg into second by 0.374s.

Hubert finished a lowly fourteenth in race one and took two points for ninth in race two, but made amends in qualifying for race three to take his maiden Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series pole.

Behind Hubert and Jörg are Fortec MotorsportsBen Barnicoat in third, who was 0.273s back on the pole time, while Jake Hughes will start fourth in the leading Koiranen GP entry ahead of Ukyo Sasahara (ART Junior Team) and race one winner Jack Aitken (Koiranen GP).

Championship leader Louis Deletraz could only manage the fourth fastest time in Group A and therefore will start seventh for Josef Kaufmann Racing, alongside Tech 1 Racing’s Simon Gachet, while Darius Oskoui (ART Junior Team) and Ignazio D’Agosto (Manor MP Motorsport) complete the top ten.

After impressing in the opening qualifying session and taking maiden series podium in race one on Saturday, Harrison Scott could not continue his form and ended up qualifying down in twenty-first position for AVF.

Silverstone Race 3 Qualifying Result

[table id=577 /]

13769 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.