Hubert leads Gachet in Tech 1 Racing front row lock out

by Paul Hensby

Anthoine Hubert took a home pole position around the Bugatti circuit at Le Mans as he led a Tech 1 Racing 1-2 in qualifying for race two of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series weekend.

Hubert set a last-gasp lap of 1m32.657s in the second of the two sessions of qualifying to beat the time set by team-mate and fellow Frenchman Simon Gachet in the first session by just 0.072s.

Ignazio D’Agosto will start third for Manor MP Motorsport ahead of championship-chasing Josef Kaufmann Racing duo Kevin Jörg and Louis Deletraz, while Saturday’s race one winner Ben Barnicoat will start sixth for Fortec Motorsports.

Jack Aitken, currently sitting third in the championship behind Deletraz and Jörg, will start seventh for Koiranen GP, ahead of a second Manor MP Motorsport entry of Dennis Olsen, while Ukyo Sasahara of the ART Junior Team and Harrison Scott of AVF complete the top ten.

It was another disappointing session for Jake Hughes, with the Briton set to start down in fourteenth position, and is set to lose even more ground in the championship having been in genuine contention for the title heading into the weekend.

Le Mans Race 2 Qualifying Result

122Anthoine HubertFRATech 1 Racing1m32.657s
221Simon GachetFRATech 1 Racing1m32.729s
319Ignazio D'AgostoITAManor MP Motorsport1m32.828s
415Kevin JorgSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing1m32.741s
514Louis DeletrazSWIJosef Kaufmann Racing1m32.828s
66Ben BarnicoatGBRFortec Motorsports1m32.763s
73Jack AitkenGBRKoiranen GP1m32.965s
817Dennis OlsenNORManor MP Motorsport1m32.943s
99Ukyo SasaharaJAPART Junior Team1m33.046s
1027Harrison ScottGBRAVF1m32.994s
1135Matevos IsaakyanRUSJD Motorsport1m33.083s
1210Darius OskouiSWIART Junior Team1m33.156s
135Martin KodricCROFortec Motorsports1m33.094s
142Jake HughesGBRKoiranen GP1m33.184s
158Valentin Hasse-ClotFRAFortec Motorsports1m33.188s
1625Amaury RichardFRAARTA Engineering1m33.351s
1737Nikita TroitskiyRUSJD Motorsport1m33.267s
1836Thiago VivacquaBRZJD Motorsport1m33.435s
1926James AllenAUSARTA Engineering1m33.520s
2046Christopher AnthonyAUSManor MP Motorsport1m34.346s
2120Hugo de SadeleerSWITech 1 Racing1m33.651s
2218Bruno BaptistaBRZManor MP MotorsportNo Time
2358Denis BulatovRUSAVF1m34.028s

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More