Formula Renault 2.0

Jörg takes first win of 2015 at Silverstone

1 Mins read

Kevin Jörg came from out of the shadow of his championship-leading Josef Kaufmann Racing team-mate Louis Deletraz to claim his first win of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series season in race two at Silverstone.

The Swiss driver led from the front from the start, and did not allow race one Jack Aitken an opportunity to attack him for the win, and eventually won by 1.840s from the Koiranen GP racer.

Jake Hughes closed the gap to Deletraz in the championship after finishing third, but behind the top three, all chaos ensued when Ben Barnicoat lost time with a problem.

The Fortec Motorsports driver was running inside the top three when the problem happened, which closed up the midfield, with drivers fighting tooth and nail for position, with Ukyo Sasahara getting the best to claim fourth ahead of the impressive Thiago Vivacqua of JD Motorsport.

Barnicoat was set for a good result despite his issue but a penultimate the lap clash with Harrison Scott eliminated both British drivers from points-paying positions, with the AVF driver climbing over the Fortec driver and landing in the gravel trap at the end of the Wellington Straight.

Dennis Olsen took sixth for Manor MP Motorsport ahead of Darius Oskoui of ART Junior Team, with Deletraz escaping the race in eighth despite a mistake that cost him a number of places while attempting to fight with Barnicoat and Hughes.

Anthoine Hubert climbed from a lowly grid slot to take ninth for Tech 1 Racing, while Callan O’Keeffe claimed the final point for Fortec Motorsports despite being unhappy with Barnicoat, who tried to defend position from the South African racer despite having no rear wing following his clash with Scott.

Silverstone Race 2 Result

[table id=573 /]

13769 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.