Last Gasp Bastianini Takes Pole at Aragon

Enea Bastianini continues to crank up the pressure on Moto3 championship leader Danny Kent after taking his second consecutive pole position at Aragon. The Italian, who claimed his maiden Grand Prix victory last time out at Misano, showed his maturity during a session dominated by traffic, taking pole ahead of Miguel Oliveira and Leopard Racing’s Kent.

Having missed the Misano round due to a concussion sustained in practice, Jorge Navarro was keen to make up for lost time and set a blistering pace early on in qualifying, clocking a 1:58.526. The Spaniard held onto top spot beyond the halfway point in the session but his superiority was eventually threatened by Oliveira on the Red Bull Ajo KTM.

Aided by the assistance of his teammates who provided a tow on the back straight, Oliveira proceeded to snatch provisional pole before extending his advantage on each of his next two laps, taking him all the way into the 1:57s and half a second clear.

With several riders struggling to find the ideal slipstream in the closing minutes, Miguel looked as if he would have a clear path to pole position but Bastianini had other ideas, choosing instead to circulate on his own. The Gresini rider was rewarded on his final lap of the afternoon with a 1:57.755, securing him a crucial pole position.

Equally crucial was the final lap of Danny Kent which lifted the Briton from a lowly tenth to the outside of the front row. The championship leader’s improvement denied Jorge Martin a maiden front row start after the Mahindra rider produced a late flyer while Jorge Navarro was relegated to fifth as punishment for failing to improve on his mid-session effort.

Niccolo Antonelli starts sixth ahead of Alexis Masbou and practice pacesetter Efren Vazquez while Philipp Oettl and Romano Fenati completed the top ten.



PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
133. Enea BastianiniHondaJunior Team Gresini Moto31:57.755
244. Miguel OliveiraKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:57.955
352. Danny KentHondaLeopard Racing1:57.956
488. Jorge MartinMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team1:58.412
59. Jorge NavarroHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:58.444
623. Niccolo AntonelliHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:58.465
710. Alexis MasbouHondaSaxoprint-RTG1:58.473
87. Efren VazquezHondaLeopard Racing1:58.477
965. Philipp OettlKTMSchedl GP Racing1:58.505
105. Romano FenatiKTMSky Racing Team VR461:58.515
1141. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:58.579
1284. Jakub KornfeilKTMDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:58.698
1398. Karel HanikaKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:58.733
1417. John McPheeHondaSaxoprint-RTG1:58.945
1511. Livio LoiHondaRW Racing GP1:58.968
1663. Zulfahmi KhairuddinKTMDrive M7 SIC Racing Team1:58.978
1716. Andrea MignoKTMSky Racing Team VR461:59.020
1821. Francesco BagnaiaMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team1:59.026
1958. Juanfran GuevaraMahindraMapfre Mahindra Team1:59.054
2048. Lorenzo Dalla PortaHusqvarnaHusqvarna Factory Laglisse1:59.214
2176. Hiroki OnoHondaLeopard Racing1:59.236
2229. Stefano ManziMahindraSan Carlo Team Italia1:59.366
2381. Sena YamadaHondaEstrella Galicia 0,01:59.398
2432. Isaac VinalesKTMRBA Racing Team1:59.462
2595. Jules DaniloHondaOngetta-Rivacold1:59.475
2640. Darryn BinderMahindraOutox Reset Drink Team1:59.505
276. Maria HerreraHusqvarnaHusqvarna Factory Laglisse1:59.563
2824. Tatsuki SuzukiMahindraCIP1:59.580
2991. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA Racing Team1:59.624
3019. Alessandro TonucciMahindraOutox Reset Drink Team1:59.683
312. Remy GardnerMahindraCIP1:59.940
3296. Manuel PaglianiMahindraSan Carlo Team Italia1:59.959
3337. Davide PizzoliHusqvarnaHusqvarna Factory Laglisse2:00.096
3489. Khairul Idham PawiHondaHonda Team Asia2:00.791
3522. Ana CarrascoKTMRBA Racing Team2:01.794