Lorenzo Leads Yamaha 1-2-3 on Friday at Aragon

1 Mins read

Jorge Lorenzo showed every sign that the disappointment of Misano is behind him by dominating the opening day of practice at the Aragon Grand Prix. The Spaniard crashed out of the San Marino GP, falling 23 points behind title rival Valentino Rossi, but Jorge was at his imperious best this afternoon to outpace his teammate by seven tenths of a second.

In a low key morning session, Lorenzo was the best part of half a second clear of Marc Marquez but the afternoon looked set to be much more competitive when Dani Pedrosa claimed top spot from the Yamaha man at the fifteen minute mark. Lorenzo was sitting calmly in the pits at this point having bailed out of a lap which would have taken him further clear but on his return to the race track, he quickly reasserted himself with a 1:48.307.

Rossi was languishing back in fifth at this point but a switch to the medium rear tyre saw him leap up the order, clocking a 1:48.200 with six minutes to go, but his bubble was soon burst when Lorenzo fitted the softer rear tyre. Setting the quickest time in all four sectors, Jorge opened up an extraordinary advantage of 0.683s over Rossi while Bradley Smith used a medium rear tyre to take third, completing a Yamaha 1-2-3.

Having stayed on the hard rear tyre throughout, Pedrosa and Marquez fell to fourth and fifth respectively with the Espargaro brothers right behind them, Pol pipping Aleix to sixth. A quartet of Ducatis followed with Andrea Dovizioso, Andrea Iannone and Danilo Petrucci just inside the top ten while Yonny Hernandez heads into final practice just outside of Q2.

British pair Scott Redding and Cal Crutchlow are also under pressure tomorrow morning after ending the day 12th and 13th respectively.



[table id=619 /]

Avatar photo
5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts
MotoGPNASCAR Cup Series

Trackhouse Racing Team entering MotoGP in 2024

1 Mins read
NASCAR Cup Series team Trackhouse Racing will become a MotoGP team in 2024 as they partner with Aprilia to field bikes for Miguel Oliveira and Raul Fernandez.

Marc Marquez shoots down running Dakar Rally on bike

3 Mins read
As much as MotoGP great Marc Márquez likes the Dakar Rally, he has no interest in racing it on a bike. While it has its own challenges, he did not necessarily rule out a run on four wheels.

MotoGP star Rossi announced as BMW M Motorsports driver for 2023

2 Mins read
BMW M Motorsport has announced the MotoGP legend Valentino Rossi as a works driver for 2023